The Hanson Annex, a 17,000 square foot addition to the Taggart Law Library, was named in honor of Dr. Eugene Nelson Hanson, former Dean of the Ohio Northern University Pettit College of Law and professor.
Contractors for the project included Thomas & Marker Construction Co. of Bellfontaine,
The new addition was opened for classes in the fall of 1982 and dedicated
The annex nearly doubled the size of the law library and included faculty offices, a room for searching legal databases, a student study room, a microforms room, numerous study carrels and an office for the law review. It was connected to the north side of the existing library and was part of a major renovation to the Tilton Hall of Law.
Eugene Hanson was born in
Dean Hanson was admitted to the Wisconsin bar in 1946 and the
Professor Hanson joined the ONU law faculty in 1947, and for fifteen years, 1958 to 1973, he was dean of the college of law. In June 1950 he married Katie Lou Craft.
Following his resignation as dean, he served as a visiting professor at the McGeorge School of Law in
Dean Hanson established a unique program in 1960 when in returning from a Fulbright lecturer at the University of Iceland School of Law. The Icelandic Exchange Program is an intercultural exchange; where each year law students travel to