Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Heterick for Faculty and Staff

Getting the Most Out of Your Sessions

GETTING THE MOST OUT OF LIBRARY INSTRUCTION SESSIONS

  • Students are most engaged if they already have the assignment and are ready to start researching
  • Request a session at least two weeks in advance to give the librarian adequate time to prepare
  • Discuss the sessions with the librarian via a phone call or a meeting, and provide a copy of the assignment to the librarian
  • Discuss any specific concerns you have about the class and their research skills or topics, so that the librarian can tailor the session to your needs
  • When designing new research assignments, check with the librarians to see if relevant resources are available
  • If you want students to use specific print resources, consider placing them on reserve
  • Encourage students to make appointments with librarians for more complicated assignments
  • Attend and participate in the session. Your participation reinforces the importance of the content.
     

Research Basics

HOW CAN THE LIBRARY HELP?

Overview of library services, including Research Guides and personal librarian service, and popular library resources targeted to the needs of the class.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration

DEVELOPING AND REFINING A TOPIC

Librarians will share ideas for determining a topic. Students develop a topic, conduct preliminary background research, and adjust the scope of the topic as needed to meet the needs of the assignment.
-Research as Inquiry

BEGINNING THE RESEARCH PROCESS

Students will create a research plan to guide them in finding sources, using search techniques, developing strategies for finding and organizing information, as well as managing research anxiety.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Research as Inquiry

Types of Sources and Source Evaluation

INTERNET VS. LIBRARY RESOURCES

Students will understand the difference between using sources from the open web and library sources from the deep web, learn how to evaluate both types of sources for credibility, and when it is appropriate to use them.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Authority is Constructed and Contextual, Information Creation as a Process

TYPES OF PUBLICATIONS

Students will learn to recognize the differences between scholarly, popular, and trade sources and understand the value of each type in their research.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Authority is Constructed and Contextual, Information Creation as a Process

EVALUATING WEB SOURCES

Students will be able to evaluate resources for currency, reliability, authority, accuracy, and purpose, as well as identify possible biases.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Authority is Constructed and Contextual, Information Creation as a Process

PRIMARY AND SECONDARY SOURCES

Students will learn to identify primary and secondary sources in their fields.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Research as Inquiry, Information Creation as a Process

Finding Quality Sources

USING SEARCH

Students will learn to use Search to find articles, books, and media available to them through the Heterick collection and OhioLINK.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Research as Inquiry

FINDING ARTICLES IN DATABASES

Students will learn how to search for and find articles available in databases.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Research as Inquiry

FINDING ARTICLES IN DISCIPLINE-SPECIFIC DATABASES

Students will learn how to search for and find articles available in discipline-specific databases.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Research as Inquiry

FINDING NEWS ARTICLES

Students will learn how to find current and historical news sources available in the Heterick collection.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Research as Inquiry

FINDING AND USING BOOKS AND EBOOKS

Students will understand the value of using books and how to use books effectively in their research. Students will learn to find eBooks available in the library’s collection as well as books available at Heterick, Taggart, or through OhioLINK.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Research as Inquiry

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Students will learn how to effectively use Google Scholar in conjunction with Heterick’s electronic journal subscriptions.
-Searching as Strategic Exploration, Research as Inquiry

Academic Integrity

PLAGIARISM AND COPYRIGHT

Students will gain an understanding of plagiarism and academic dishonesty and learn how to avoid it. Students will learn the basics of copyright and how to find uncopyrighted or creative commons resources available for their use.
-Information Has Value

CITATION AND ZOTERO

Students will learn the basics of MLA or APA citations and learn about resources to help them with more challenging citations. Students will create a Zotero account and learn how our most popular databases work with Zotero to help simplify the citation process.
-Information Has Value

Additional Options

LIBRARIANS CAN ALSO:

  • Put together custom course guides to assist students with class research
  • Be added to Moodle as an instructor, assistant, etc. 
  • Make short visits to your class to encourage them to make use of library resources
  • Put together video tutorials for different resources
  • Meet with faculty to discuss new assignments
  • Meet individually with students or groups
  • Create custom sessions based on your needs