How to tell if journal is "peer-reviewed" or "refereed"
- Search journal by title using certain interfaces (Web of Knowledge (ISI), EbscoHost, ) by limiting search "peer-reviewed" sources by clicking a box or selecting a tab.
- Search the title of the journal (in quotes) and the term peer-reviewed in Google. Critically analyze information found!
- Search at the journal's homepage page by looking at the editorial statement or instructions to authors.
- Search for same in the physical copy of the journal where this information is either most often found it the first few pages of the journal or at the end
- Look up the journal in the reference book Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Ulrich's uses the term "refereed to describe peer-reviewed journals. See link below for call number.
Tracking Citations
When using the Citation Reference Search tab at any of the Web of Science (ISI) databases, make sure you click on which database(s) you'd like to run the search.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) This link opens in a new windowClick on the "Cited Reference" tab at the top of the screen.
- Google Scholar Author ProfileGoogle Scholar automatically sorts articles into groups. Authors can go through those, identify which articles are indeed theirs, and edit the list. Google Scholars collects citations for each author and graphs them over time to calculate different metrics: “the widely used h-index; the i-10 index, which is simply the number of articles with at least ten citations; and, of course, the total number of citations to your articles,” the blog post says.
- Publish or PerishRead the caveats.
Searching for Citations in Databases
Look for "Cited References" link at top of screen for all EbscoHost products.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
More information
- JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text articles, eBooks, and primary sources for many disciplines.
More information - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowJournals, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology.
More information
Journal Tools and Measures
- Journal MetricsProvides information about and access to SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) and Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) scores.
- SCImago Journal and Country RankThe main site for SJR rankings.
- CWTS Journal IndicatorsThe main site for SNIP rankings.
Resources About Authors' Rights
- Authors' RightsSPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) resources explaining your rights as an author and how to use the SPARC author's addendum.
- Keep Your CopyrightsA website from Columbia University Law School informing authors about their rights regarding copyright.
- Retain Your CopyrightsInformation from the Claremont Colleges Library.
- SHERPA/RoMEO"RoMEO is a searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories."