Streaming Videos at Heterick
If you would like to use streaming videos, there is a limiter in the library catalog to search our holdings.
If there is a video that you would like us to license, including films from Kanopy, please complete the form below.
For some videos we may only able to purchase DVD versions, but on occasion are able to negotiate for the right to digitize if the material will only be accessible via Moodle.
Library Databases with Streaming Videos
- American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new windowHistoric public broadcasting radio and television content. Limit your search to "Available online" and preferred media type.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to a digital streaming video collection of current, leading theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
- Folkstreams This link opens in a new windowIndependent documentaries on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities.
More information - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIf you find videos that you would like to use in classes, please complete this form to request them. Kanopy is a mediated, on-demand streaming video service that provides access to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Films requested will be available in approximately one to two business days.
More information - O’Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new windowEbooks, guided tutorials, and videos on a wide array of subjects and fields of study, with special focus on computer science, IT, and engineering. Access instructions.
Science Video Resources (JoVE)
- JoVE: Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology This link opens in a new windowVideos demonstrating how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology. Each video is paired with additional video resources to show practical applications of the techniques and other complementary skills.
More information
Freely Available Videos
Please use YouTube and other online video sites with caution. Confirm that you are using legally uploaded videos in your courses. The following links are all legally licensed materials. The librarians are available to help you confirm.
- Educational Documentaries: NetflixNetflix makes select educational documentaries available online for classroom use.
- Free DocumentaryYouTube Channel from Quintus Media GmbH. Full length documentaries with a focus on nature, wildlife, culture, people, and history.
- National GeographicOfficial YouTube channel for National Geographic. Clips and full episodes.
- PBS Learning MediaWhile designed for K-12, this site from PBS includes clips and full length videos from shows like Nova, Frontline, American Experience, Ken Burns documentaries and more.
- Real StoriesYouTube channel featuring licensed documentaries from different studios. Variety of topics.
Kanopy FAQ
Before November 2018, Heterick provided Kanopy as an unmediated PDA or Patron Driven Acquisition resource. This meant that the entire catalog of Kanopy was available to users. After a video was viewed 3 times (a view is defined as 30 seconds of continuous playing), the library received an invoice for $135 to license the film for 1 year. This model proved unsustainable and the library moved to mediated access. Unfortunately this means that users cannot access films until we license them.
If I used a Kanopy video last year, do I still have access to it?
Maybe. The library does not own streaming videos; we license them. If we had a license for the video last year, it may have expired.
It is best to check availability or contact a librarian at the beginning of the semester or at least a few weeks before you plan to use a video.
When should I submit a request for a video?
For instructors, please try to submit requests as soon as you know you will be assigning a video, preferably before the beginning of the semester. If you request a video through Kanopy, please include the following information:
- Course name or number
- Date needed
- Viewing in class or students viewing independently
If you are viewing the video in class, we may purchase a DVD instead of streaming to be more financially responsible.
Why do instructors need to provide a date for when the video is needed?
In order to make best use of funds we start the license for the video as close to the date you need it as possible.
How long will it take for the library to respond to a request?
A librarian will usually respond within one business day.
What if I need the Kanopy video tomorrow?
Because the library needs the vendor to activate the video, we cannot guarantee next day availability. Videos are often available the next business day, but because of the difference in time zones, that is not a guarantee.
Tips for Kanopy
- Using the Kanopy WebsiteHow to use a film in PowerPoint, create a user account, share or embed films, and more.