Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Heterick for Faculty and Staff

Screenshot of HML website search box with database tab highlighted

If you are trying to access a database while off campus, access the database through the library website or the link above. You may be prompted to enter your ONU email and password.

If you have questions, please contact reference@onu.edu or the circulation desk (419-772-2181)

Journal Finder 

 

Use the Journal Finder to determine whether or not the library has access to a specific journal or to go directly to a publication. 

Screenshot of HML website with Journal Finder tab highlighted

Polar, the library's catalog, allows you to search materials both at Heterick Memorial Library and at Taggart Law Library.  

 

POLAR - Library Online Catalog

  

Ebooks to which Heterick has access are included in POLAR.

You can also search specifically for Ebooks through these databases:

OhioLink

Heterick Memorial Library is a member of OhioLINK which is a consortium consisting of 121 public/research universities, community/technical colelge, private colleges, and the State Library of Ohio. Through OhioLINK, Heterick Memorial Library receives access to 50 million library materials,  and 20 million electronic articles, many electronic research databases, 100,000 e-books, and 50,000 theses and dissertations.

Heterick Memorial Library faculty, staff and students may request materials from OhioLINK's central library catalog - - which provides access to print and AV materials from colleges and universities throughout the state of Ohio. Requested materials arrive in approximately 5-6 working days and are delivered to the library Monday - Friday. 

When requesting materials, you will need to enter your first and last name for the username and all eleven (11) digits of your university ID for the password.  

To access the OhioLINK catalog:

 OHIOLINK Library Catalog

 

  

Find films by searching POLAR, the library catalog, or OhioLINK. You can also search Kanopy, a streaming video database. Kanopy includes thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases, covering everything from the arts to technical training.

Effective March 16, 2020, Kanopy will not be mediated, allowing for immediate access. Please do not use Kanopy for personal viewing, with the exception of the content at the links below. If you plan to use a Kanopy video in class, use the direct link to the film rather than sending students to the resource and having them search for it to minimize unnecessary purchase triggers for the library. 

Kanopy is a unique resource because we do not purchase the video. As with many electronic formats, the content is licensed to us for a set amount of time rather than owned outright. When Kanopy is not mediated, videos are automatically licensed for one year after 3 views of 30 seconds or longer, so please keep that in mind while viewing. We have set aside funds for Kanopy to help provide resources for online learning during this time. Please contact Heather Crozier if you have additional questions about this resource.

Kanopy films can be embedded in Moodle courses; however, in order for a film to appear in your course properly, you'll need to add an "s" following the "http" in the embed code. Contact the library if you have trouble embedding a film.

Other Video Resources

On campus, you are automatically linked to the Libraries' resources.  However, off-campus these links are not automatically available and you must adjust your settings as shown below.  

  1. First, you must sign up for a free Google account which you already have if you have an ONU email.  
  2. Sign in to Google Scholar with your email username and password. (Your email address will appear in the top right-hand corner if you are already signed in)
  3. Click on Settings at the top of the page.  
  4. Click on Library links in the left-hand column.  
  5. Type in Heterick Memorial Library and click on Save.  

 

To export citations to Refworks or any other bibliographic manager in Google Scholar, follow the instructions below:

  1. First, you must sign up for a free Google account which you already have if you have an ONU email.
  2. Sign in to Google Scholar with your email username and password (upper-right hand corner). 
  3. Click on Settings at the top of the page.
  4. Scroll down to Bibliography Manager.  
  5. Click on the button next to Show links to import citations into and choose the bibliographic manager you would like to use.  

Finding ONU Resources in Google Scholar

On campus, you are automatically linked to the Libraries' resources.  However, off campus you need to adjust your settings as shown below: 

  1. Sign in to Google Scholar with your ONU email username and password. (Your email address will appear in the top right-hand corner if you are already signed in)
  2. Click on Settings at the top of the page.  
  3. Click on Library links in the left-hand column.  
  4. Type in Heterick Memorial Library and click on Save.