BIZ 1301: Principles of Public Relations

The nonprofit Center for Media and Democracy strengthens participatory democracy by investigating and exposing public relations spin and propaganda, and by promoting media literacy and citizen journalism, media 'of, by and for the people.

PRovoke Media is the PR industry's leading source of news, trends, events, career information & intelligence. Previously known as the Holmes Report.

"the Institute for Public Relations (IPR) is an independent non-profit organization foudned in 1956, whose mission is to educate and inform PR practitioners, educators, researchers, and clients. It's free website... contains information centered on research, education and education-industry affairs."
Choice, March 2001, page 1338.

This is the place to go to learn about how ideas are developed for industry, education, and government, and how they have been applied to successful public relations programs since the PR industry was born.

The [Free Management] Library provides free, easy-to-access, online articles to develop yourself, other individuals, groups and organizations (whether the organization is for-profit or nonprofit). Over the past 15 years, the Library has grown to be one of the world's largest well-organized collections of these types of articles and resources.

Supported by SourceWatch, this site offers an extensive list of public relations firms and their websites.

Chartered in 1947, the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is the world’s largest and foremost organization of public relations professionals. PRSA provides professional development, sets standards of excellence and upholds principles of ethics for its members and, more broadly, the multi-billion dollar global public relations profession. We also advocate for greater understanding and adoption of public relations services, and act as one of the industry’s leading voices on the important business and professional issues of our time.

The Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) is the foremost organization for students interested in public relations and communications. We seek to advance the public relations profession by nurturing generations of future professionals. We advocate rigorous academic standards for public relations education, the highest ethical principles and diversity in the profession.

An independent non-profit making organization which monitors the role of public relations and spin in contemporary society.

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, LABSTAT database, news releases, reports, and public use microdata files.

Offers attitudes and behaviors of employees, customers, students and citizens for "everything important facing humankind."

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions.

Conducts and publishes research on social and economic policy issues.

A starting point for demographic research. Provides data about the nation's people and economy.

Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

Provides objective analysis of pressing long-term social and economic development issues, and discusses the positive and negative impact of corresponding policies.