LibGuides: HIST 2041: The Historian's Craft: ONU Archives

Search Archives @ ONU

ArchivesSpace@ONU contains listings for Ohio Northern University's historical documents and records within the Ohio Northern University Archives.

Need help searching or requesting an item? Email the Archives at archives@onu.edu!

What's in the Archives?

The Ohio Northern University Archives is the home of historical collections that help document the story of our campus community. Materials that can be found in the collections include manuscripts, photographs, rare books and other publications, maps, audio-visual materials, institutional records, digital files, and other materials related to Ohio Northern University and the surrounding communities.

Searching the Archives

Due to the diverse type of materials found in the Archives, there are various ways you can begin your research. Please know that we are regularly updating these tools as we work to make all of our public holdings accessible.

Search our archival collections, including institutional records and personal papers, through our archival search engine.
Explore our digital holdings, such as campus yearbooks, at DigitalCommons@ONU.
Search for books and other published materials via the Library's POLAR Catalog.
Find inspiration and other tools through our Research Resources page.
Looking for help? We are always happy to answer any questions and to schedule research appointments.

Archives' Digital Collections

Digitized materials from the ONU Archives collections can be accessed through DigitalCommons@ONU. A small number of highlighted collections are listed below.

Institutional Records

Ohio Northern Yearbook Collection
Ohio Northern University yearbooks - Starting from 1910. Physical copies available through the ONU Archives.
ONU University Catalogs
A collection of Ohio Northern University's course catalogs from 1871 to the present. The university catalogs represent an important source of university history, and contain information academic programs and courses, university costs, rules and traditions, and faculty for each academic year.
Alumni Journal Collection
A collection of journals sent to alumni of Ohio Northern University. This collection is still in development.

Personal Papers

Chun C. Lee Collection
Chun C. Lee was an ONU student from 1924-1927 who was born in China and moved to America in 1911. Lee earned his BS in mechanical engineering from ONU in 1927, at which time he returned to China and served as an engineer in the city of Guangzhou (then Canton). Lee returned to America in 1954 as a refugee from the Chinese Communist Revolution. Digitized materials from the collection include his memoir "My Life Story" and a tribute to ONU professor Dr. Thomas J. Smull.
Clara Sherick Correspondence
The Clara Sherick Correspondence collection consists of letters writtern to Sherrick from 1890-1894. The majority of the letters were written to Sherrick while she was a student at Ohio Northern University (then Ohio Normal University), and provide insights into the day-to-day life of Sherrick and her correspondents.
Grace E. Ingledue Papers
Grace Ingledue was enrolled at ONU from 1917-1922 as a student in the Preparatory School and the School of Expression. Ingledue later received a Ph.D. from Louisiana State University and in addition to being a professor she worked as an entertainer and radio station manager for WFIN in Findlay, Ohio. Select portions of the Ingledue papers have been digitized for this collection, most notably her diary from her senior year at Northern.

ONU Diverse Voices Project

ONU Diverse Voices Project
The ONU Diverse Voices Project is a joint effort between the ONU Archives, Heterick Memorial Library, the Office of Multicultural Development, and campus community members designed to help preserve, share, and highlight diverse voices from the ONU community. The materials found within in this resource are preserved alongside other historical materials in the ONU Archives, and it is our hope that moving forward both the ONU Archives and the ONU Diverse Voices Project will continue to grow as we strive to have our holdings become more reflective of the diverse lives and experiences of our community members.

Evaluating Primary Sources

Historians go to primary sources in the search for evidence to answer questions about what happened in the past and why. When working with primary sources, it can help to not just examine the content recorded on the source, but also the historical context of the source. Questions that can include:

Initial questions (You may not always have the information to answer all of these)

What is it?
Who wrote or made it?
When was it written or made?
Where was it written or made?
How was it written or made?
What evidence does this source contribute to my research?

Broader questions to consider

Why was this document/object written or made?
Who was the intended audience/user?
What questions does this source raise? What don’t we know about this source?
What other information do we have about this document or object?
What other sources are like this one?
What other sources might help answer our questions about this one?
What else do we need to know in order to understand the evidence in this source?
What have others said about this or similar sources?
How does this source help me to answer my research question?
How does evidence from this source alter or fit into existing interpretations of the past?

These questions are from DoHistory.org and can help you evaluate primary sources.