Getting Started - Klondkie Search
Similar to searching for books, Klondike Search is an excellent place to search for research articles, primary sources, and other resources. If you are looking for a specific types of sources you can use the "Resource Type" facet to limit your search to the source types that you are looking for.
Finding Articles - Klondike Search Tutorial
Selected Library History Databases - Articles & Primary Sources
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and magazine articles across a broad range of subjects. An excellent starting point for most research.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Articles on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents from six different phases of Black Freedom:
Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).
More Information -
HarpWeek : The Civil War Era This link opens in a new windowPage images and index to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.
-
HLAS Online : Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Index to books, chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies.
-
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, books, monographs, biographies for the study of Jewish history and heritage.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text articles, eBooks, and primary sources for many disciplines.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowA general database of mostly popular materials but does contain some reference works and some primary source materials.
-
Ohio Memory This link opens in a new window
Collaborative statewide digital library of content from Ohio cultural heritage institutions.
-
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1867-1970, Ohio This link opens in a new windowLarge scale street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company from 1867-1970.
Newspapers
-
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowInternational, national, and local news sources, including print and web articles from The Cleveland Plain Dealer, The Columbus Dispatch, and The Lima News. Updated daily.
-
Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowLibrary of Congress' digitized American newspapers collection. Can limit your searches by geographic areas (for example, Ohio).
-
Digital Archives of the Ada Public LibraryIncludes the University Herald, the Ada Herald, and the Ada Record.
-
New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window
Access to digitized New York Times articles from 1851 to the present. An account is required to access some articles. Click the link above for instructions. If you have an account, you can go directly to https://www.nytimes.com/ and select “Continue with work or school single sign-on” as a log in option.
Web Resources
-
African Online Digital Library (AODL)an open access digital library of African cultural heritage materials created by Michigan State University in collaboration with museums, archives, scholars, and communities around the world.
-
ArchiveGridArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
-
Digital Library of the CaribbeanA collaborative effort to provide access to Caribbean cultural, historical, scientific and research materials held in archives, libraries, museums, private collections, and other institutions of memory and preservation.
-
Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. A wide variety of resources such as texts, images, audio files, video files, and other resources digitized by libraries and other organizations in the United States are available.
-
EurodocsEuropean primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
-
Internet ArchiveInternet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music,
-
Internet Archive - Wayback MachineLargest digital archive of the world wide web.
-
Library of Congress - Digital CollectionsFormerly known as American Memory, Library of Congress's Digital Collections includes digitized American and global historical materials grouped into thematic collections.