LibGuides: HIST 2041: Historiography: Books/Print

Search tips

When searching for primary sources in POLAR, OhioLINK, or WorldCat try adding the following terms to your search:

Sources
Narratives
Correspondence
Letters
Diaries
Speeches
Interviews
Archives

Finding Tools

POLAR - Library Online Catalog

WorldCat

WorldCat searches the collections of libraries around the world, including many archival materials. It is most helpful for finding copies of more obscure books. Try:

Including some of the suggested terms in the box at the top of the page
Using facets on the results page to narrow your results to archival materials
Setting a specific date range on the results page

It may be possible to request books via Interlibrary Loan.

Try the beta site ArchiveGrid to search archival materials exclusively.

ArchiveGrid
Primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Ebooks and Digitized Books

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.
More information

Project Gutenberg
Our ebooks are free in the United States because their copyright has expired. They may not be free of copyright in other countries. Readers outside of the United States must check the copyright laws of their countries before downloading or redistributing our ebooks.
Smithsonian Digital Library
The Smithsonian Digital Library contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories.

International Library Catalogs

Wikipedia list of national and state libraries
The University of Queensland (Australia) used to maintain a directory of national library catalogs, but it is now a Wikipedia entry.
more...less...
The list is primarily organized alphabetically by country with non sovereign states listed separately at the bottom of the page. Many national libraries have a standard practice of collecting their country's publications, which makes them an excellent resource for verifying and locating items known to have been created in a specific country.
Karlsruhe Virtual Catalogue
The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalogue KVK allows searching of library and book trade catalogs worldwide, listing more than 500 million titles.
more...less...
You can search 14 different German catalogs, several catalogs each from Austria and Switzerland, as well as other major catalogs in the United States, Australia, and Europe simultaneously. Eight open access resources are also available for search. The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalogue is helpful when you are uncertain in which country a publication might be located. You can click on the links in the results to view the record in the native interface. In addition to telling you where it finds results, the Karlsruhe Virtual Catalogue will also tell you why it didn't find records in other catalogs. This allows you to know when additional searching is necessary. The catalog is available in German or English.
via Libri
Search the online catalogs of libraries throughout the world. NOTE: This does not link to any HML affiliated catalogs so you'll need to check the catalogs to see if a copy is available. If none, are available, try Interlibrary Loan.

Google Books

Google Books is most helpful for searching within books to determine how much coverage there is on your topic. Full text is limited, but you can often get a good idea of what is included in the book.

Interlibrary Loan

Please use Interlibrary Loan for materials not available through the library's resources and not available through OhioLINK. You may request journal articles, books and DVDs through Interlibrary Loan. From the time of request, books usually arrive in 10-12 days. Journal articles are usually delivered electronically and arrive within 3-5 days. For further information on requesting materials go to:

InterLibrary Loan at Heterick Library