LibGuides: PR 3201: Advanced Public Relations Writing: Articles and Databases

Databases for PR Articles, Company Info, and Industry Info

Articles and Databases

Articles can be found in the library's databases. Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc) and often contain full-text articles. Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study.

Databases -- Alphabetical & Subject Listings

BizMiner Academic This link opens in a new window
You do not need to create an account. Industry financial ratios, local industry market research, competitive market analysis and more by US location.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade publications on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business etc. Starting point for most business-related research.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on communication and mass media.
Criminal Justice Abstracts - Full text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and reports dealing with Criminology and related disciplines.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text magazine articles covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Industry profiles, forecasts, and overviews.

Note: This link is only accessible with an ONU log-in. You may have to click through 3 screens (continue--continue--submit) before the search screen appears. Search for the Public Relations Services and click on that specific phrase in the results list. The industry profile will contain a wealth of current information related to the PR industry.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Journals, dissertations, and book chapters pertaining to the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
SearchONU (Classic Interface) This link opens in a new window
Searches ONU's databases, e-journals, e-books, the POLAR catalog, and the OhioLINK catalog.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.

Yahoo Finance
At Yahoo Finance, you get free stock quotes, up to date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, message boards, and mortgage rates.

PR Academic and Trade Journals

PR Academic Journals:

Journal of Public Relations Research
Examines understanding of why organizations practice public relations as they do & ways to conduct public relations more effectively, as well as providing scholarly criticism, & developing the history, ethics & philosophy of public relations.
Public Relations Journal
The Public Relations Journal, published quarterly by the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), is an open-access, peer-reviewed electronic research journal facilitating the transfer of knowledge from the educational community to the professional community.
(Note: An account may need to be created in order to access full-text articles.)
Public Relations Quarterly
Articles, commentary, interviews, profiles, book reviews, news of note and special issues for professionals in public relations. (Only older coverage might be available.)
Public Relations Review
The Public Relations Review is the oldest journal devoted to articles that examine public relations in depth. Most of the articles are based on empirical research undertaken by professionals and academics in the field.

PR Trade Journals:

PRWeek
The latest news, in-depth analysis, top columnists, and reviews of campaigns - plus the best selection of job opportunities for PR professionals across the US
Public Relations Strategist
Presents fresh perspectives & new ideas related to the strategic importance of effective public relations at the management level. Examines changing concepts & occasionally challenges current wisdom about the practice of public relations.
Public Relations Tactics
News, trends and how-to information for public relations people.

PR Industry Codes

NAICS Codes
Primary NAICCODE: Public Relations Agencies - 541820

US SIC Codes
Primary SICCODE: Public relations services - 87430000

Company Research: Public or Private?

The most important thing to know before you begin your research is whether your company is publicly held or privately held. This information will inform where you search for information. U.S. law requires pubicly held companies to disclose certain information. Most private companies opt not to disclose this information. Thus, if you are researching a small private company, you may need to rely on local news and information sources.