LibGuides: PHBU 3051: Introduction to Health Science for Business Professionals: Researching Treatments

Library Databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews which consists of peer-reviewed systematic reviews which identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question, and Cochrane Clinical Answers, which consist of a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the most relevant Cochrane Review.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCO interface; National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences (content is also searchable via PubMed).

New England Journal of Medicine

Drug Information

UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Clinical and drug information with monographs on FDA and off-label use regarding clinical use, safety, and drug monitoring.

Websites

Search for organizations and foundations that provide support to patients to identify what treatments are likely to be used. Hospital resource pages will also often list standard treatments.

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)
FDA center that regulates over-the-counter and prescription drugs. Search here for newly approved medications and drugs under review.
DailyMed
DailyMed, maintained by the National Library of Medicine, provides information about marketed drugs and includes FDA labels (package inserts).