Research Help
Other Research Guides
- Business
-
Pharmacy - Research Resources
by Kathleen Baril Last Updated Jul 3, 2025 5060 views this year
-
Starting Your Research
by Kathleen Baril Last Updated Jul 3, 2025 81 views this year
Class Notes Outline
Getting Started
There are many different resources, both in the library and on the web, that can help you find good health information. Different resources meet different information needs. This chart can help you organize your thoughts and determine which resource is most likely to have the information that you need.
Books
Books will give you an overview of your disease. While they may not be the most current resource available, they are a good starting point and will likely direct you to other sources. In addition, searching the library catalog can help you find government resources to help understand the epidemiology and and burden of disease.
-
KlondikeSearch This link opens in a new windowSearches across many different subject areas and disciplines. Using KlondikeSearch, you will find articles, e-books, print books, newspapers and streaming media. To find print books in the ONU Libraries or in OhioLINK, use KlondikeSearch.
Library Databases and Journals
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text scholarly articles focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health. Also includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCO interface; National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences (content is also searchable via PubMed).
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
The New England Journal of Medicine and JAMA are well-respected medical journals that provides articles on diseases and treatment.
Recommended Web Sites
-
CDC - Center for Disease ControlCDC is the national public health agency of the United States.
-
Diseases and ConditionsInformation on diseases and conditions from Cleveland Clinic.
-
Diseases and ConditionsInformation on diseases and conditions from the Mayo Clinic.