Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and the Library

Nursing Databases

Recommended Databases:

Complete List of Nursing Databases:

AHFS Consumer Medication Information (Formerly Lexi-PALS Drug Guide) | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Database of patient advisory leaflets from Lexi-Comp More..

AIDS Info | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Information on HIV/AIDS - Treatment, Prevention and Research More..

Alt-HealthWatch | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. More..

CINAHL Plus with Full Text | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Index and abstracts to the literature of nursing and allied health. More..

Clinical Trials | Off Campus Access
Up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions More..

Cochrane Library | Off Campus Access
Contains high-quality independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. More..

Health Source : Consumer Edition | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. More..

Health Source : Nursing/Academic Edition | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines. More..

Lexi-PALS Drug Guide (Now AHFS Consumer Medication Information) | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Database of patient advisory leaflets from Lexi-Comp More..

MedicLatina | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. More..

MEDLINE with Full Text | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Medical dictionary of periodicals since 1966. More..

Micromedex Care Notes System | Off Campus Access
Information for patients on treatments, laboratory tests, follow-up care, continuing health and drugs More..

Micromedex Healthcare Series | Off Campus Access
Targeted to healthcare professionals and provides information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care and alternative medicine More..

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database | Off Campus Access
Information on a variety of natural and alternative medicines More..

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source | Off Campus Access
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and consumer health More..

PubMed | Off Campus Access | Mobile Phone
Access over 12 million MEDLINE citations and other related sources More..

Scanned Images, Engravings, And Pictures from Old Books | Off Campus Access 
Over 3,200 free images in high resolution from old rare antique books More..

Springer Protocols | Off Campus Access
Electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. More..

Toxnet | Off Campus Access
Contains several databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases More..

CINAHL headings and MeSH

MEDLINE with Full Text and CINAHL both use specialized subject headings that allow for more precise searching, including the ability to limit your search to specific populations, interventions, outcomes, etc. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities. CINAHL uses subject headings unique to the database that use the same structure. The documents and links below can help you understand how to use these terms to improve your searches in these databases. 

Difference between MEDLINE and PUBMED

Primary and Secondary Resources

Traditionally when an article is described as a "research article" it is a primary source. The research is new and original. A secodary source would be a "review article." These types of articles describe previously conducted research. The article does not contain new and original research but shows the reader what had been accomplished by others.

Interlibrary Loan

Please use Interlibrary Loan for materials not available through the library's resources and not available through OhioLINK.  You may request journal articles, books and DVDs through Interlibrary Loan.  From the time of request, books usually arrive in 10-12 days.  Journal articles are usually delivered electronically and arrive within 3-5 days. Please use the forms below for requesting.

Interlibrary Loan Request Information

For further questions about Interlibrary Loan, please contact ill@onu.edu or 419-772-2181.