Databases: Start here with SearchONU!
Articles can be found in the library's databases. Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc.) and often contain full-text articles. Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study.
SearchONU: Always a good place to start out and test your topic. SearchONU is the library's database that searches most of the other databases, e-journals, e-books, the POLAR catalog, as well as the OhioLINK catalog.
- SearchONU (Classic Interface) This link opens in a new windowSearches ONU's databases, e-journals, e-books, the POLAR catalog, and the OhioLINK catalog.
Additional general and subject-specific databases
For topics that are outside the general scope of this course, or include elements that might be part of a different discipline's subject-specific databases, make sure to check out the "Databases -- Alphabetical & Subject Listings" link below.
Examples: For food-related topics, look in the alphabetical listing for the "Food Science Source" database. For those related to illegal drugs or other criminal activity, database subject areas for "Criminal Justice & Law," "Psychology," and "Sociology" might be helpful.
- American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new windowHistoric public broadcasting radio and television content. Limit your search to "Available online" and preferred media type.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media. Includes or has links to full text
More information - Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of articles related to film and television communications.
More information - Folkstreams This link opens in a new windowIndependent documentaries on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities.
More information - Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowProfessional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources about sexual diversity issues
More information - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIf you find videos that you would like to use in classes, please complete this form to request them. Kanopy is a mediated, on-demand streaming video service that provides access to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Films requested will be available in approximately one to two business days.
More information - LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowAbstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues
More information - MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
More information - Points of View This link opens in a new windowContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills
More information
