Databases: Start here with KlondikeSearch!
Articles can be found in the library's databases. Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc.) and often contain full-text articles. Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study.
KlondikeSearch: Always a good place to start out and test your topic. KlondikeSearch searches across many subject areas and disciplines and contains e-books, journal articles, news articles and many more formats.
-
KlondikeSearch This link opens in a new windowSearches across many different subject areas and disciplines. Using KlondikeSearch, you will find articles, e-books, print books, newspapers and streaming media. To find print books in the ONU Libraries or in OhioLINK, use KlondikeSearch.
Additional general and subject-specific databases
For topics that are outside the general scope of this course, or include elements that might be part of a different discipline's subject-specific databases, make sure to check out the "Databases -- Alphabetical & Subject Listings" link below.
Examples: For food-related topics, look in the alphabetical listing for the "Food Science Source" database. For those related to illegal drugs or other criminal activity, database subject areas for "Criminal Justice & Law," "Psychology," and "Sociology" might be helpful.
-
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Historic public broadcasting radio and television content. Limit your search to "Available online" and preferred media type.
-
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowIndex and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade publications on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business etc. Starting point for most business-related research.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on communication and mass media.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Articles on information and trends in technology.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full text of articles related to film and television communications.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Folkstreams This link opens in a new windowIndependent documentary films on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIf you find videos that you would like to use in classes, please complete this form to request them. Kanopy is a mediated, on-demand streaming video service that provides access to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Films requested will be available in approximately one to two business days.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on LGBTQ+ issues.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text magazine articles covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Play Index This link opens in a new window
Index of plays written in or translated into English.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Provides brief summaries and aggregates articles to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Journals, dissertations, and book chapters pertaining to the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
