Skip to Main Content

TREX 1001: Film Meets Communication

Finding Articles in Databases

The library subscribes to hundreds of databases full of quality sources for your research papers and other projects. Databases are electronic indexes containing published materials such as scholarly articles. Databases can be subject specific, like Business Source Complete, or multidisciplinary, like Academic Search Complete, or can be collections of a specific type of media, like Kanopy (streaming video) or Smithsonian Global Sound Library (streaming music). Find the link to our database A-Z list on the library homepage, in the main search box under databases. In this A-Z list you can easily browse by database title or subject area. 

Why Use Databases?

 

  Open Web Search Engine Database
Credibility
  • References frequently not listed
  • Often anonymous
  • References almost always listed
  • Author almost always identified
  • ‚ÄčScholarly articles written by an expert in the field
Currency
  • May be very current, but often undated
  • Immediate publishing
  • Almost always includes date of publication
  • Publication takes time
  • Delay in availability in databases
Accuracy
  • Varies; careful evaluation is necessary
  • Review process
  • Professional editing
  • Careful selection
Purpose
  • Inform the public
  • Persuade
  • Sell
  • Share research
  • Share research with peers through scholarly articles
  • Inform 
Other database advantages:
  • FREE articles
  • More relevant results
  • Advanced search features
  • Citation help

SearchONU