LibGuides: PHPR 2811: Global Healing Traditions: Searching for Sources

Sources

Find Background and General Information on Your Topic

Websites

Find general information on your topic especially on .gov websites. Try some of the websites listed below:
Carefully evaluate anything you find on the web (see evaluating sources for more information).

Books

Use the library's main search box and limit books or e-books to find books which will provide general information on your topic.
For additional books, use OhioLINK to find books at other academic libraries.
Most books are scholarly but not all, see evaluation tab for more information.

Find More Detailed information on Your Topic

Databases

Alt-HealthWatch

Publications, including scholarly articles, about alternative and complementary health care and wellness.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Index, abstracts, and full text scholarly articles focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health. Also includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
NatMed Pro
Information on various dietary supplements, natural medicines, and alternative therapies. Includes an interaction checker and disease state/condition search.
PubMed

Access MEDLINE citations and other biomedical literature. Includes links to full text available from Heterick.
KlondikeSearch
Searches across many different subject areas and disciplines. Using KlondikeSearch, you will find articles, e-books, print books, newspapers and streaming media. To find print books in the ONU Libraries or in OhioLINK, use KlondikeSearch.