Relevant Subject-Specific Databases
Databases
Articles can be found in the library's databases. Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc) and often contain full-text articles. Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study.
The SEARCH database in particular is useful for multi-disciplinary searches. Adding individual Ebsco databases together can also be helpful.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
More information - AtlaSerials, Religion Collection This link opens in a new windowDatabase of articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
More information - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media. Includes or has links to full text
More information - Criminal Justice Abstracts - Full text This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, and reports dealing with Criminology and related disciplines.
More information - Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts and full text articles on environmental studies
More information - Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowProfessional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources about sexual diversity issues
More information - GreenFile This link opens in a new windowContent includes global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling & more
More information - Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowInformation on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
More information - JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text articles, eBooks, and primary sources for many disciplines.
More information - MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
More information - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowFull text of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works.
More information - Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, including top-ranked scholarly journals
More information - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowJournals, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology.
More information - Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
More information - SearchONU (Classic Interface) This link opens in a new windowSearches ONU's databases, e-journals, e-books, the POLAR catalog, and the OhioLINK catalog.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text covering sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
More information
Databases that the library has temporary access to (due to COVID-19)
Specific Relevant Journals
- Journal of Chinese Buddhist StudiesClick on the links for "Current Issue" and "Previous Issues" to browse this title.
- The Journal of Hindu StudiesClick on the links for "Current Issue" and "Previous Issues" to browse this title.
Finding Full-Text Articles and Off Campus Access
Most databases will have full-text articles available in PDF or HTML formats. If PDF or HTML is unavailable look for the following link:
Click on this link to find your full-text article.
If the above link is not available, request your article through Interlibrary Loan.
When using library resources off campus, the system prompts for your Ohio Northern University username and password
- When prompted for your username, type your ONU username.
- Your password is the same password you use to sign into your ONU email.
Please contact reference@onu.edu with any questions.