Accounting, Finance, Management, Marketing, PHBU Help
Sport Management and PR Help
Suggested Databases
-
BizMiner Academic This link opens in a new window
You do not need to create an account. Industry financial ratios, local industry market research, competitive market analysis and more by US location.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade publications on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business etc. Starting point for most business-related research.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowPublic company information, some private company information, consumer data, industry reports from First Research, and a robust search function for searching for business meeting your criteria. Includes Key Business Ratios on the Web.
-
New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window
An account is required to access The New York Times. Click the link above for instructions. If you have an account, you can go directly to https://www.nytimes.com/ and select “Continue with work or school single sign-on” as a log in option.
-
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for trade and industry related periodicals.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Wall Street Journal (The) This link opens in a new window
Register for an account to Wall Street Journal. If you have already created an account, log in here.
-
Business Analyst OnlineMarket analysis using a Geographic Information System (GIS) through a web interface. Robust set of demographic, consumer and segmentation data. Powerful analysis tools. Create color-coded maps and generate summary reports easily. Contact Professor Jimmy Wilson (h-wilson.1) for access.
Comparing Business Databases
| BizMiner | Business Source Complete | First Research | Mergent Intellect | Mergent Online | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles | X Including Scholarly | ||||
| Industry Information | X | X | X | X | X |
| Industry Analysis | X | X | X | X | |
| Company Profiles | X | X | X | ||
| Private Companies | Limited | Limited | Limited | ||
| Competitors | X | X | X | ||
| SWOT Analysis | X | ||||
| Stock Values | X | X | |||
| SEC Filings and Reports | X |
Searching Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal site search function is very limited. Try using Google to search the site by using the command site:wsj.com after your search terms.
For example:
keystone pipeline site:wsj.com
Using the "tools" menu under the search box will also give you the opportunity to limit your search by date.
Additional Google tips:
Searching Off Campus
If you are trying to access a database while off campus, access the database through the library website. You will be prompted to enter your Ohio Northern University username and password. This is the same username and password that you use to access your ONU email and Canvas.
If you have questions, please contact reference@onu.edu or the circulation desk: 419-773-2181.
Related Guides
- Business
-
Starting Your Research
by Kathleen Baril Last Updated Sep 23, 2025 93 views this year
-
Statistics and Data
by Kathleen Baril Last Updated Jul 8, 2025 16 views this year