LibGuides: CAMS 4381: Communications Capstone: Articles and Databases

Relevant Databases for Capstone Topics

Databases: Start Here!

Articles can be found in the library's databases. Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc.) and often contain full-text articles. Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study.

SearchONU: Always a good place to start out and test your topic. SearchONU is the library's database that searches most of the other databases, e-journals, e-books, the POLAR catalog, as well as the OhioLINK catalog.

SearchONU (Classic Interface) This link opens in a new window
Searches ONU's databases, e-journals, e-books, the POLAR catalog, and the OhioLINK catalog.

Additional general and subject-specific databases:

Databases -- Alphabetical & Subject Listings

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and magazine articles across a broad range of subjects. An excellent starting point for most research.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Historic public broadcasting radio and television content. Limit your search to "Available online" and preferred media type.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade publications on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business etc. Starting point for most business-related research.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on communication and mass media.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Articles on information and trends in technology.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles and other publications in education research.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full text of articles related to film and television communications.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on LGBTQ+ issues.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text magazine articles covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Provides brief summaries and aggregates articles to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles relating to religion and philosophy.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference library for sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation.

Newspapers

In order to access full text of the New York Times or Wall Street Journal, you will need to create an account using these links.

New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window
American daily newspaper. If you already have an account, log in here.
Account Creation:
ONU students, faculty, and staff have full access to articles with an account. Visit this page and follow the instructions below to set up your account.
- After you have created an account, you can access the site using the Access Database button at the top of this page or going directly the New York Times website and logging in.
- After one (1) year, you will need to reactivate your NYT account. To do so, simply follow the instructions listed in this guide again.
- Search for Ohio Northern University under "Find School..."
- Click on the link in Step 2
- Click on Create Account
- Create an account with your ONU email address
If you are searching for historical articles from the New York Times, there are two methods of searching available:
- Use TimesMachine
- Use the site's search function and limit by date
Remember, if you need to access more than 5 articles, you'll need to follow the instructions listed in this guide to create a NYT account.
Wall Street Journal (The) This link opens in a new window
Register for an account to Wall Street Journal. If you have already created an account, login
Washington Post (The) This link opens in a new window
American daily newspaper with rolling access dating back 15 years.
For information on setting up an optional account, click here.

News Websites

AllSides
Collects news articles from the left, right, and center.
Associated Press News
"The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting. Founded in 1846, AP today remains the most trusted source of fast, accurate, unbiased news in all formats and the essential provider of the technology and services vital to the news business." -ap.org/about/
Reuters
"Founded in 1851, Reuters has remained true to the Trust Principles of independence, integrity and freedom from bias, working relentlessly to bring news from the source and from every corner of the world." - reutersagency.com/en/about/about-us/

Statistics

Statistics and Data
by Kathleen Baril Last Updated Jun 10, 2024 175 views this year

CAMS 4381: Communications Capstone