LibGuides: Philosophy: Databases

Philosophy Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and magazine articles across a broad range of subjects. An excellent starting point for most research.
ACLS Humanities Ebook This link opens in a new window
High quality ebooks in history and the humanities.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.
JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, eBooks, and primary sources for many disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of select dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable library containing the full text of scholarly books from Oxford University Press and other university presses.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles relating to religion and philosophy.

Helpful Websites

American Philosophical Assocation
The main professional organization for philosophers in the United States. Founded in 1900, its mission is to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.
Ask Philosophers
Pose a question on a philosophical issue and get a response from a panel of philosophers.
EthicShare
Provides an index to literature in the field, a news feed service and discussion forum, with a primary emphasis on topics related to bioethics. Based at University of Minnesota. Update: the previous website appears to be down, but the collections can be searched through this link.
Ethics Updates
Intended for instructors and students of both theoretical and applied ethics courses. Its aim is to provide updates on current literature, both professional and popular.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Free online encyclopedia on philosophical topics and philosophers founded by James Fieser in 1995.
Philosophy Bites
Podcasts of top philosophers interviewed on bite-sized topics.
Philosophy Talk
Radio show hosted by two philosophers who discuss a wide range of topics from popular culture to the human condition.
PHILWEB Bibliographical Archive
With sections devoted to 15 branches of philosophy, 21 philosophical methodologies, 4 historical eras, 22 regions, and hundreds upon hundreds of philosophers and other theorists, PHILWEB is a massive pathfinder to print and electronic information in philosophy. Update: website appears down, but can be accessed through the internet archive: https://web.archive.org/web/20191001000000*/http://www.phillwebb.net/
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

Database Guides

Google Scholar

Citation Finder

Electronic Journal Center/EJC (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Full text of research journals.

Have a citation but need to find the actual article? Use the form found at this link to look up a specific journal title.

If you are looking for articles on a certain topic, please see the links for HML databases. If you are looking for a specific book or an entire journal, please use the HML journal finder.

Off Campus Access

When using library resources off campus, the system prompts for your Ohio Northern University username and password

When prompted for your username, type your ONU username.
Your password is the same password you use to sign into your ONU email.

Please contact reference@onu.edu with any questions.