LibGuides: English: Databases

English Databases

Databases

Articles can be found in the library's databases. Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc) and often contain full-text articles. Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study.

Databases -- Alphabetical & Subject Listings

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and magazine articles across a broad range of subjects. An excellent starting point for most research.
JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, eBooks, and primary sources for many disciplines.

JSTOR: Understanding Shakespeare
Connecting digital texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library with articles on JSTOR.

Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Journals and series from the Master List of Periodicals of the MLA International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
An index to short stories written in or translated into English.

Helpful Websites

Dictionary.com
Free internet dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Meaning, history, and usage of words and phrases from across the English-speaking world.

The Poetry Foundation
Includes poems, poets, biographies, articles, glossary, blogs, etc.
The Victorian Web
For all things Victorian Period.

Database Guides

Google Scholar

Citation Finder

Electronic Journal Center/EJC (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Full text of research journals.

Have a citation but need to find the actual article? Use the form found at this link to look up a specific journal title.

If you are looking for articles on a certain topic, please see the links for HML databases. If you are looking for a specific book or an entire journal, please use the HML journal finder.

Off Campus Access

When using library resources off campus, the system prompts for your Ohio Northern University username and password

When prompted for your username, type your ONU username.
Your password is the same password you use to sign into your ONU email.

Please contact reference@onu.edu with any questions.