Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1511: College Composition 1

Finding Articles

Articles are publications in which scholars share their research and findings with other scholars who study the same subject.
Articles are published in journals.
Databases are collections of articles from many different journals.
In databases, you can search for articles by subject, title, author's name, and more.
You can search in many different databases at once if you use the "Search" tab on the library's homepage.
You can also search one database at a time by selecting that database from the "Database" tab.

Example:

  • Article: "Herbal-caffeinated Chewing Gum, but Not Bubble Gum, Improves Aspects of Memory."
  • Journal: Appetite
  • Database: CINAHL Plus

Heterick Memorial Library has some print journals.
They are on the second floor, and they are shelved alphabetically by title.
In order to find an article in a print journal, you need to know 5 pieces of information:

  • article title
  • journal title
  • volume and issue of the journal in which the article was published
  • page numbers of the article.

Example:

  • Article Title: "The First Gravitational-wave Source from the Isolated Evolution of Two Stars in the 40-100 Solar Mass Range."
  • Journal Title: Nature
  • Volume Number: 534
  • Issue Number: 7608
  • Page Numbers: 512-515