The State of Ohio

The mission of this project is to capture digital images of gravestones of our ancestors. As decades pass-- many stones in Ohio cemeteries are becoming harder, if not impossible, to read the inscriptions they originally contained.

An index to 2,100,000 obituaries, death & marriage notices & other sources from Ohio from the 1810s to the present day. Actual obits may be ordered from 50 partner libraries; only Hayes Library has online ordering.

Features resources and data pertaining to the geological landscape for the State of Ohio, and has been in continuous operation since 1900. A division of the Ohio Department of Natural Resources.

This website contains images and descriptions of over one thousand glass lantern slides used by Prof. Jesse Earl Hyde, a professor who taught geology at Western Reserve University (now part of Case Western Reserve University) from 1915 until his death in 1936. The collection itself contains more than 2000 slides and hundreds of photographs made roughly from 1890 to the mid 1930's. These slides span a massive range of topics such the evolution of man, glaciers, Ohio geology, and the history of science just to name a few.

The Ohio Geological Society, formed in 1961, is a non-profit organization dedicated to advance the science of geology as it relates to petroleum, natural gas and associated liquids, ground water, coal, oil shales, and other natural resources. The Ohio Geological Society is an affiliate society of The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) and the Eastern Section of the AAPG.

Resource provided by the Ohio Historical Society for teachers of history.

Free online books, articles and maps related to Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, Michigan and Wisconsin until 1900.

The Archives/Library helps people to discover the stories of Ohioans who built our state’s farms, industries, businesses, schools, churches, social organizations, governments and communities.

The Archives/Library of the Ohio Historical Society collects, preserves, and makes available to the public written and graphic information concerning Ohio's history. As the State Archives of Ohio, it is the designated repository for state government records of enduring historical value.

In this incredible library, you’ll get access to searchable source documents, historical photos, and amazing digital collections.

The Youngstown State University Oral History Collection, begun in 1974, collects and preserves first-person narratives of northeastern Ohioans who have participated in, or closely observed events which have significantly affected both the state and nation. The Oral History Collection houses over eleven hundred interviews including personal narratives focusing on World War II, Vietnam, Youngstown College (University), Greek, Puerto Rican, Romanian, Russian and Italian culture, industry (steel, pottery, brick, labor relations, coal, and railroads), politics, the Holocaust, and religion.

On this home page for the State of Ohio there are links to Ohio Government Agencies and updated news and feature

An alphabetical to the State of Ohio Agencies and Departments' websites

There are currently 1418 markers located across the state that recognize Ohio's rich cultural history. Made of cast aluminum, these signposts provide a tangible record of Ohio's history.