Need help?
Other Guides
-
Starting Your Research
by Kathleen Baril Last Updated Sep 23, 2025 105 views this year
Recommended Databases
-
KlondikeSearch This link opens in a new windowSearches across many different subject areas and disciplines. Using KlondikeSearch, you will find articles, e-books, print books, newspapers and streaming media. To find print books in the ONU Libraries or in OhioLINK, use KlondikeSearch.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI) This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
Possible Databases
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts - Full text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and reports dealing with Criminology and related disciplines.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on LGBTQ+ issues.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and conference papers on political science topics.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Journals, dissertations, and book chapters pertaining to the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
-
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
This database and its contents may not be used in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or econtent in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein. Please contact the library with questions.
Background Information
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics.
-
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowConcise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects.
-
Social Science Research: Principles, Methods, and PracticeOpen textbook by Anol Bhattacherjee. This chapter discusses scale/measure reliability and validity.
-
Validity and Reliability in Social Science Research.Academic article about validity in social science research and approaches to assessing validity and reliability.
Finding ONU Resources in Google Scholar
On campus, you are automatically linked to the Libraries' resources. However, off campus you need to adjust your settings as shown below:
- Sign in to Google Scholar with your ONU email username and password. (Your email address will appear in the top right-hand corner if you are already signed in)
- Click on Settings at the top of the page.
- Click on Library links in the left-hand column.
- Type in Heterick Memorial Library and click on Save.