Skip to Main Content

TREX 1001: True Crime

Why Use Databases?

 

  Open Web Search Engine Database
Credibility
  • References frequently not listed
  • Often anonymous
  • References almost always listed
  • Author almost always identified
  • ​Scholarly articles written by an expert in the field
Currency
  • May be very current, but often undated
  • Immediate publishing
  • Almost always includes date of publication
  • Publication takes time
  • Delay in availability in databases
Accuracy
  • Varies; careful evaluation is necessary
  • Review process
  • Professional editing
  • Careful selection
Purpose
  • Inform the public
  • Persuade
  • Sell
  • Share research
  • Share research with peers through scholarly articles
  • Inform 
Other database advantages:
  • FREE articles
  • More relevant results
  • Advanced search features
  • Citation help

Finding Full-Text Articles and Off Campus Access

Most databases will have full-text articles available in PDF or HTML formats.  If PDF or HTML is unavailable look for the following link:

small circle with green stripes and text: find it @ ONU

Click on this link to find your full-text article.

If the above link is not available, request your article through Interlibrary Loan.

When using library resources off campus, the system prompts for your Ohio Northern University username and password

  • When prompted for your username, type your ONU username.
  • Your password is the same password you use to sign into your ONU email.

Please contact reference@onu.edu with any questions.

Finding ONU Resources with Google Scholar

On campus, you are automatically linked to the Libraries' resources.  However, off campus you need to adjust your settings as shown below: 

  1. Sign in to Google Scholar with your ONU email username and password. (Your email address will appear in the top right-hand corner if you are already signed in)
  2. Click on Settings at the top of the page.  
  3. Click on Library links in the left-hand column.  
  4. Type in Heterick Memorial Library and click on Save.  

Using SearchONU