Archivist
Online Research Tools
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a nonprofit family history organization operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. FamilySearch offers free access (with registration) to its collection of genealogical resources and records.
- AncestryAncestry.com LLC is a for-profit genealogy company, that through a paid subscription service provides users access to genealogical resources and records.
- The Allen County (Indiana) Public Library Genealogy CenterThe ACPL Genealogy Center has one of the largest research collections available, incorporating records from around the world. Staff specializes in genealogical research.
- Cyndi’s List of Genealogy Sites on the InternetCyndi's List is a categorized and cross-referenced list of links for genealogical research.
- American Family Immigration History Center (AFIHC) - Ellis IslandThe American Family Immigration History Center (AFIHC) allows users to create a free account to search through their collection of immigrant arrival records stored in the Port of New York Passenger Records (1820-1957).
- National Archives and Records Administration (US) - Resources for GenealogistsProvides access to federal government records (including, but not limited to, census, military, immigration, and naturalization) and genealogical resources.
- Library of Congress - Local History & Genealogy Reference ServicesThe Library of Congress has one of the world's premier collections of U.S. and foreign genealogical and local historical publications and provides access to various digital collections.
- Find a GraveFind A Grave provides data on cemeteries and deceased individuals. Entries sometimes include photographs, obituaries, and birth and death data.
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
- Ohio Obituary IndexAn index to 2,100,000 obituaries, death & marriage notices & other sources from Ohio from the 1810s to the present day. Actual obits may be ordered from 50 partner libraries; only Hayes Library has online ordering.
Search Tips
-
If you are not finding expected results, try searching different name spellings/variations (for example, La Sorda, Sorda, and Lasorda, or Francis and Frances) and date ranges.
-
Be prepared to search for different surnames. This is most common for maiden names, but can also occur for other reasons, such as adoption.
-
Begin with the nearest generation about which complete information exists and work back in time from that point; research one name or family at a time; focus on one locality where ancestors lived and identify it in terms of the jurisdictions to which it belongs (county, state, district, province, etc.).
-
Document your work as you progress.
-
As you learn more information, return to previous searches and supplement them with new data.
-
When possible look at an image of the original document, not just a transcription.
- Using Archives: A Guide to Effective ResearchGuide from the Society of American Archivists on how to effectively use archives for research.
Books Available at Heterick
Genealogy for the First Time by Call Number: 929.1 B561g c.1ISBN: 1402701098Publication Date: 2003
Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques by Call Number: 929.1 M848a c.1ISBN: 9780071816502Publication Date: 2013
County by county in Ohio genealogy [electronic resource] by Call Number: OL 1.2:C832/996 c.1Publication Date: 1996
Getting Started in Genealogy Online by Call Number: 929.1072073 D665g c.1ISBN: 9780806317700Publication Date: 2006
Mastering Online Genealogy by Call Number: 929.10285 Q6m c.1ISBN: 9781593602055Publication Date: 2015
