Pharmacy Databases
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Publications, including scholarly articles, about alternative and complementary health care and wellness.
- APhA PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
American Pharmacist Association textbooks, interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- Food Chemicals Codex Online This link opens in a new windowCompendium of purity and quality standards for food ingredients.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowInformation on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Clinical and drug information with monographs on FDA and off-label use regarding clinical use, safety, and drug monitoring.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEBSCO interface; National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences (content is also searchable via PubMed).
- Micromedex Care Notes System This link opens in a new windowInformation for patients on treatments, laboratory tests, follow-up care, continuing health and drugs.
- Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new windowIncludes information about FDA-approved indications, off-label uses, pharmacokinetic data, safety information, & pharmacology tools to assess drug–drug/food/supplement interactions, incompatibilities, pharmacokinetic adjustments, & toxicology. Includes Red Book, Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference, AltMedDex, Identidex, Drugdex, Poisindex, Index Nominum International Drug Directory.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Access MEDLINE citations and other biomedical literature. Includes links to full text available from Heterick.
- USP-NF Online This link opens in a new windowSource for FDA-enforceable quality standards for drugs, dietary supplements, excipients, procedures for tests, assays, and analytical methods. Official preparation instructions are given for a limited number of commonly compounded products.
Finding Full-Text articles
Most databases will have full-text articles available in PDF or HTML formats. If full-text is unavailable look for the following link:
Click on this link to find your full-text article.
If the above link is not available, request your article through Interlibrary Loan.
Related Medical Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowScholarly and trade articles on nursing and allied health.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowJournals, dissertations, and book chapters pertaining to the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) This link opens in a new windowKey index to articles from journals in science and technology.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowRegistration required. CAS database providing access to literature in Biomedical Science, Chemistry, Engineering Materials, etc.
