Books
Books, textbooks, and encyclopedias can be helpful for the background research and historical context for a current topic. You can search by keywords and subject heading in Heterick's POLAR catalog and the OhioLINK catalog. Keyword searching is better for broad searching and for when you are beginning your research. Subject searching is better for narrower searches.
-
Library Catalog (POLAR) This link opens in a new windowCatalog of the holdings of Heterick Memorial Library and Taggart Law Library.
-
OhioLINK Central Catalog This link opens in a new windowCatalog of the holdings of OhioLINK member libraries.
Databases
Articles can be found in the library's databases. Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc.) and often contain full-text articles. Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study.
A-Z List of ONU's Databases:
KlondikeSearch:
Always a good place to start out and test your topic. KlondikeSearch searches across a variety of subject areas and contains e-journals, e-books, news articles, and many more formats.
-
KlondikeSearch This link opens in a new windowSearches across many different subject areas and disciplines. Using KlondikeSearch, you will find articles, e-books, print books, newspapers and streaming media. To find print books in the ONU Libraries or in OhioLINK, use KlondikeSearch.
Additional general and subject-specific databases:
-
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly journals, magazines and trade publications on art and architecture.
-
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Magazine and journal articles on fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
-
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndex of publications covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
-
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowIndex and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles on communication and mass media.
-
Folkstreams This link opens in a new windowIndependent documentary films on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.
-
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center This link opens in a new window"How-to" instructions and creative ideas for crafts, plus full text articles from leading hobby and craft magazines.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text magazine articles covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
