Databases with Streaming Video
Unique Library Databases
-
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Historic public broadcasting radio and television content. Limit your search to "Available online" and preferred media type.
-
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to a digital streaming video collection of theater productions and additional learning resources.
-
Folkstreams This link opens in a new windowIndependent documentary films on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIf you find videos that you would like to use in classes, please complete this form to request them. Kanopy is a mediated, on-demand streaming video service that provides access to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Films requested will be available in approximately one to two business days.
-
O’Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, guided tutorials, and videos on a wide array of subjects and fields of study, with special focus on computer science, IT, and engineering.
Freely Available Videos
-
Educational Documentaries: NetflixNetflix makes select educational documentaries available online for classroom use.
-
Free DocumentaryYouTube Channel from Quintus Media GmbH. Full length documentaries with a focus on nature, wildlife, culture, people, and history.
-
National GeographicOfficial YouTube channel for National Geographic. Clips and full episodes.
-
PBS Learning MediaWhile designed for K-12, this site from PBS includes clips and full length videos from shows like Nova, Frontline, American Experience, Ken Burns documentaries and more.
-
Real StoriesYouTube channel featuring licensed documentaries from different studios. Variety of topics.
Streaming Video Request
FAQs
If I used a streaming video last year, do I still have access to it?
Maybe. The library does not own streaming videos; we license them. If we had a license for the video last year, it may have expired.
It is best to check availability or contact a librarian at the beginning of the semester or at least a few weeks before you plan to use a video.
When should I submit a request for a video?
For instructors, please try to submit requests as soon as you know you will be assigning a video, preferably before the beginning of the semester. If you request a video through Kanopy instead of the library streaming video form, please include the following information:
- Course name or number
- Date needed
- Viewing in class or students viewing independently
If you are viewing the video in class, we may purchase a DVD instead of streaming to be more financially responsible.
Why do instructors need to provide a date for when the video is needed?
In order to make best use of funds we start the license for the video as close to the date you need it as possible.
How long will it take for the library to respond to a request?
A librarian will usually respond within one business day.
What if I need the video tomorrow?
Because the library needs the vendor to activate the video, we cannot guarantee next day availability. Videos are often available the next business day, but because of the difference in time zones, that is not a guarantee.