Finding Articles
If you are trying to access a database while off campus, access the database through the library website. You may be prompted to enter your ONU email and password.
If you have questions, please contact reference@onu.edu or the circulation desk (419-772-2181)
You can also use KlondikeSearch to find articles, as demonstrated in the video below.
Journal Finder
Use the Journal Finder to determine whether or not the library has access to a specific journal or to go directly to a publication.
Finding Books
Use KlondikeSearch, the main search box on the library's homepage, to find books as demonstrated in the video below.
OhioLink
Heterick Memorial Library is a member of OhioLINK which is a consortium consisting of 121 public/research universities, community/technical colelge, private colleges, and the State Library of Ohio. Through OhioLINK, Heterick Memorial Library receives access to 50 million library materials, and 20 million electronic articles, many electronic research databases, 100,000 e-books, and 50,000 theses and dissertations.
Heterick Memorial Library faculty, staff and students may request materials from OhioLINK through KlondikeSearch. Requested materials arrive in approximately 5-6 working days and are delivered to the library Monday - Friday.
Finding Films
The library licenses streaming videos for course use or for special events with an academic focus.
Kanopy is the most convenient option, but the library will work with other vendors as needed.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIf you find videos that you would like to use in classes, please complete this form to request them. Kanopy is a mediated, on-demand streaming video service that provides access to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Films requested will be available in approximately one to two business days.
Using Google Scholar
On campus, you are automatically linked to the Libraries' resources. Off-campus you need to adjust your settings.
- Sign in to Google Scholar with your ONU email. (Your email address will appear in the top right-hand corner if you are already signed in)
- Click on Settings at the top of the page.
- Click on Library links in the left-hand column.
- Type in Heterick Memorial Library and click on Save.
To export citations to a bibliographic manager in Google Scholar, follow the instructions below:
- Sign in to Google Scholar.
- Click on Settings at the top of the page.
- Scroll down to Bibliography Manager.
- Click on the button next to Show links to import citations into and choose the bibliographic manager you would like to use.