Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Identify Journals for Publication

Database Indexing

One way to assess the quality of a journal is to see if it is indexed in a database.  Journals included in databases are reviewed before they can be included and indexed in a database.  

To find the journal in the database, search for the journal by name and by limiting your search to Publication or Source.  

Listed below are some journal lists from a sampling of the library's databases:

 

Open Access Journals

Use the Directory of Open Access Journals to find vetted open access journals.  The DOAJ standards for inclusion encompass a rigorous editorial or peer-review process, detailed and comprehensive author guidelines, an editor and editorial board along with several other standards.  

Predatory Publishers

“Predatory journals and publishers are entities that prioritize self-interest at the expense of scholarship and are characterized by false or misleading information, deviation from best editorial and publication practices, a lack of transparency, and/or the use of aggressive and indiscriminate solicitation practices.”

Grudniewicz, A., Moher, D., Cobey, K. D., Bryson, G. L., Cukier, S., Allen, K., Ardern, C., Balcom, L., Barros, T., Berger, M., Ciro, J. B., Cugusi, L., Donaldson, M. R., Egger, M., Graham, I. D., Hodgkinson, M., Khan, K. M., Mabizela, M., Manca, A., … Lalu, M. M. (n.d.). Predatory journals: no definition, no defence. Nature576(7786), 210–212. https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-019-03759-y

 

Questions to ask in order to identify predatory journals

  • Do you or your colleagues know the journal?
  • is the publisher easy to identify and contact?
  • Is the peer review process clear?  
  • Are articles indexed in databases that you use?  
  • Is it clear what fees will be charged and what those fees are for?  

Adapted from Think Submit Check: https://thinkchecksubmit.org/journals/