Other Sources

Newspapers

50States.com Newspaper Database
America's Historical Newspapers
Search or browser original page images of early American newspapers from the early colonial era through the roaring twenties.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Try Recommended Topics to see recommended search strategies.
Lexis+
Contains databases for selected law reviews and journals; coverage varies by title. (ONU Law School patrons only)
Newspaper Archive
Historical newspaper database with tens of millions of exact image pages from 1759 to the present; searchable by keyword and date. Password required for access—see a librarian.
POLAR Library Catalog
Wall Street Journal
Comprehensive coverage of the Wall Street Journal back to 1984.
Wall Street Journal Online
Search and access Wall Street Journal articles from 1996-present. Password required to access—see a librarian
Westlaw: Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers

Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Historical American newspapers between 1690 and 1922
More information
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
More information

Open Access Tools

Open Access Button
The Open Access Button is a browser bookmarklet which registers when people hit a paywall to an academic article and cannot access it.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search and read published opinions of US state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and US Supreme Court cases since 1791.
Unpaywall
Unpaywall is a service that maintains a database of links to full-text articles from open-access sources all over the world.

Citing Newspapers

Rule 16.6 of the Bluebook governs the proper citation of newspapers. Generally, newspapers should follow the same rules as non-consecutively paginated periodicals (Rule 16.5), with three important exceptions that can be found in Rule 16.6. Note that citations to signed articles should include the full name of the author and that citations to unsigned articles should begin with the title of the piece.

Reference Appointments

The Taggart Law Library is here to help! Schedule an appointment with a librarian or chat with us using our online chat feature. Open to ONU Law students, faculty, staff, and alumni.

Quick Links

chat loading...