Finding Journals
Journal Finder
You can search POLAR to find print holdings of law reviews, journals, and other periodicals, or use the Journal Finder to find electronic databases that have the journal in full text. Click on the example below for the Harvard Law Review.
Journal Indexes
Looking through old copies of legal history law journals can show you articles that scholars have written in the past. This can help you in finding a topic or help you find sources that you would not have found on your own.
Taggart Law Library has several print and electronic indexes to help you find journal articles by topic.
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Published since 1936, Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) indexes, by subject heading, the most recent issues of primarily American law journals. Maintained diligently by an experienced team of editors and published weekly, CILP provides timely topical access to more than 650 legal publications organized within 104 relevant subject headings. You can sign up for a personalized email delivery of journals by registering an account HERE.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
Retrospective legal periodicals and books from 1908-1981
Full-Text Sources
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)The DOAJ indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar allows you to search and read published opinions of US state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and US Supreme Court cases since 1791.
- HeinOnline Law Journal LibraryThe Law Journal Library is HeinOnline's signature collection of more than 3,000 fully searchable, image-based journals, each dating back to the first issue ever published. This scholarly journals database spans more than 41 million pages and 40 disciplines, bridging a crucial research gap.
- Lexis+Contains databases for selected law reviews and journals; coverage varies by title. (ONU Law School patrons only)
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks. SSRN´s eLibrary provides 1,207,322 research papers from 1,107,568 researchers in more than 70 disciplines.
- UnpaywallUnpaywall is a service that maintains a database of links to full-text articles from open-access sources all over the world.
Citing Journals
Rule 16 of the Bluebook governs the citation of periodicals, including law review and other journals. Note that consecutively paginated and non-consecutively paginated (i.e. each issue is separately paginated) follow Rule 16.4 and 16.5, respectively.
Citation of particular pages within a law review article with parenthetical information about what appears on those pages:
Search Google Scholar
Reference Appointments
The Taggart Law Library is here to help! Schedule an appointment with a librarian or chat with us using our online chat feature. Open to ONU Law students, faculty, staff, and alumni.