Women and the Law: Internet Sources

Commission whose purpose is to “secure the full and equal participation of women in the ABA, the legal profession, and the justice system.” Site includes publications, statistics, and links to further information.

Website of the American Civil Liberties Union’s Women’s Rights Project. Site includes resources and publications dealing with such topics as criminal justice, discrimination, violence against women, education, employment, poverty and welfare, and pregnancy and parenting.

The OVW provides federal leadership in developing the nation’s capacity to reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.

The Women's Bureau develops policies and standards and conducts inquiries to safeguard the interests of working women; to advocate for their equality and economic security for themselves and their families; and to promote quality work environments.

The Office of Global Women’s Issues works to promote stability, peace, and development by empowering women politically, socially, and economically around the world.

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.

Formed in 1974, Equal Rights Advocates (ERA) is a legal organization that fights for gender justice in workplaces and schools across the United States.

Legal directory with links to many online resources dealing with women and the law, including the U.S. Constitution, treaties and other international materials

The International Women’s Rights Project (IWRP) was founded in 1998 to strengthen the capacity of women’s NGOs in Canada and internationally to advocate for women’s human rights. The IWRP works to influence the implementation of international human rights standards through collaboration, participatory research and evidence-based advocacy.

Overview of feminist jurisprudence produced by Cornell University’s Legal Information Institute (LII); includes links to the U.S. Constitution, judicial decisions, and other resources.

The new name for the National Organization for Women’s (NOW) Legal Defense and Education Fund. Legal Momentum seeks to “advance the rights of women and girls by using the power of the law and creating innovative public policy.” Includes publications and information on a wide range of topics concerning women, including information on actions the organization is supporting in the courts and in Congress.

The Lucy Hargrett Draper U.S. Equal Rights Amendment (1921-1982) Research Collection at Georgia State University is comprised of primary and secondary materials of all formats relating to efforts and activities at state, regional and national levels, to secure the passage of an equal rights amendment for women.

Founded in 1996, the National Organization for Women is the largest organization of feminist grassroots activists in the United States. Its purpose is to take action through intersectional grassroots activism to promote feminist ideals, lead societal change, eliminate discrimination, and achieve and protect the equal rights of all women and girls in all aspects of social, political, and economic life.

A nonprofit organization that seeks “to protect and advance the progress of women and girls at work, in school, and in virtually every aspect of their lives.” Includes information on issues ranging from athletics and employment to women in the military.

UN Women is the United Nations entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide.

From Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute, the Women & Justice collection provides access to international, regional, and domestic case law and legislation from around the world related to promoting gender justice and ending gender-based violence.

A project of Stanford University's Robert Crown Law Library, the Women's Legal History website is a searchable database of articles and papers on pioneering women lawyers in the United States.

Based in New Mexico, Women's Rights International works with rural women and girls who are living in countries at war or under state-sponsored violence.

Website designed to provide state-by-state legal information and resources on domestic violence.

Website produced by the UN which contains a wealth of information and resources on gender equality and the empowerment of women.

Website produced by Stanford Law School that uses biographies of individual women lawyers to examine the subject of women’s legal history; includes links to articles and other information about women lawyers.

Part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory project, this site serves as a “gateway” to the study of women’s history and culture in the United States. Includes a link to resources available through the Law Library of Congress.

Website produced by the Bora Laskin Law Library at the University of Toronto which includes links to international treaties and conventions and other resources dealing with women’s rights in international law.

This libguide from Georgia State University present information on using the University's Archives for Research on Women and Gender, which documents the experiences of women and men participating in women-centered and LGBTQ activist and advocacy activities in Georgia and the Southeast throughout the 20th and 21st centuries.