LibGuides: Women and the Law: Statutes

Federal Statutes

United States Code (USC): Arranged topically with 51 titles, there are two annotated versions of the United States Code, United States Code Annotated (USCA—burgundy in color) and United States Code Service (USCS—black). They are produced by different publishers and can differ in the annotations they provide, so it’s a good idea to check both sets.

Use the index volumes at the end of the set to find what you need, or there are volumes listing acts by popular name (Religious Freedom Restoration Act, etc.)

Online Resources

Federal statutory and legislative material can also be found online in the following places:

Congress.gov
Federal legislative information made freely available to the public; especially useful for tracking recent legislation and Congressional information.
HeinOnline's Collection of the U.S. Code
This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.
Lexis+: USCS
ONU law school patrons only.
U.S. Code
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
U.S. Code (Legal Information Institute)
Freely available text of the U.S. Code; also includes a Popular Name Table and Parallel Table of Authorities.
U.S. Congressional Documents (HeinOnline)
This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-2012), as well as other important congressional material.
U.S. Statutes at Large (HeinOnline)
Includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options (ONU Law patrons only).
Westlaw: USCA
United States Code Annotated has all 54 titles and includes the Constitution, court rules and appendixes. Annotated materials include notes of decisions, cross references, research references, and more.

State Statutes

State codes: Annotated state codes work very much like the federal codes, but may have a different topical organization. The Taggart Law Library has state codes for all 50 states in the state materials section on the south side.

National Conference of State Legislatures' 50-State Law Surveys
The bill tracking database includes comprehensive bill information from all 50 states. complete bill information. The status of bills listed in these databases is updated every week. You can search by subtopics, year, status (e.g., pending, enacted, etc.), or enter keywords to identify bills.
Ohio Revised Code
Freely available unannotated version of the Ohio Revised Code.
State Statutes: A Historical Archive (HeinOnline)
Includes superseded state statutes for all fifty states. Search the statutes by state, date, description and text. Coverage goes back until 1717.
Session Laws Library (HeinOnline)
Contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception.
State Statutes by Topic (LII)
Legal Information Institute's freely available topical index of state statutes.
Subject Compilations of State Laws (HeinOnline)
Features a database giving you access to over 20,000 bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg and Carol Boast Robertson's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Many records contain extensive annotations with links directly to articles and other documents residing in HeinOnline.

Reference Appointments

The Taggart Law Library is here to help! Schedule an appointment with a librarian or chat with us using our online chat feature. Open to ONU Law students, faculty, staff, and alumni.

Quick Links

chat loading...