Constitutional Interpretation: Databases

America: History and Life is the index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

American Periodicals Series Online contains page images (full text) of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. As of January 2000, it contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts (as available) for the new articles entered into the database.

The English Short Title Catalogue describes publications printed in Great Britain or its colonies from 1473 through 1800, as well as material printed in English anywhere in the world during that period, including the United States. All recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700 are now represented in the file.

HarpWeek is the FULL TEXT electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1700 books of high quality, covering most humanities disciplines and area studies. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. HEB now adds approximately 300 books annually to the collection. Titles come from 250 publishers and have been selected by eleven ACLS learned societies or reviewed by a panel of distinguished scholars. HEB currently works with nearly 80 university presses. Humanities E-Book was formerly known as the History E-Book Project.

LLMC Digital is a full text database containing over 8 million actual page images of legal literature and government documents from federal, state, and foreign jurisdictions.

Select your area of focus to research, be it Secondary Sources, Statutes or Administrative Material.

Complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court are included in this library.

A collection of Constitutional Law treatises available on Westlaw. Contains titles pertaining to these areas and more: Anti-SLAPP Litigation, Education Law, Religious Organizations, Search And Seizure, and Freedom of Speech.

Contemporary and historical constitutions for the countries of the world in original language and English versions, as well as books, periodicals, and related resources. Available through HeinOnline.