LibGuides: Constitutional Interpretation: Journal Articles

Journal Indexes

Taggart Law Library has several print and electronic indexes to help you find journal articles by topic.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Published since 1936, Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) indexes, by subject heading, the most recent issues of primarily American law journals. Maintained diligently by an experienced team of editors and published weekly, CILP provides timely topical access to more than 650 legal publications organized within 104 relevant subject headings. You can sign up for a personalized email delivery of journals by registering an account HERE.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
Retrospective legal periodicals and books from 1908-1981

Full Text Journal Sources

The full text of journals and law reviews in print can be found in the Law Periodicals section on the north side of the law library. Journals are shelved alphabetically by title. There are also several electronic sources for full text journals.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search and read published opinions of US state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and US Supreme Court cases since 1791.
Lexis+
Contains databases for selected law reviews and journals; coverage varies by title. (ONU Law School patrons only)
Westlaw Journal Index
Contains databases for selected law reviews and journals; coverage varies by title.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 194 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle of using multiple research databases.
More information
JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, eBooks, and primary sources for many disciplines.
More information

Selected Constitutional Law Journals

The following are a few selected examples of journals that deal with the Constitution:

Constitutional Commentary
Published by Univ. of Minnesota Law School; Available on HeinOnline
First Amendment Law Review
Published by Univ. of North Carolina School of Law; Available on HeinOnline
Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review
Published by Harvard Law School; Available on HeinOnline
University of Pennsylvania Journal of Constitutional Law
Published by Univ. of Pennsylvania Law School; Available on HeinOnline
William & Mary Bill of Rights Journal
Published by William & Mary Law School; Available on HeinOnline
The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787: Which framed the Constitution of the United States of America / reported by James Madison (1920 ed.)
There is no official record of the proceedings regarding the Constitutional Convention of 1787. James Madison kept the journal of the proceedings, but it included only procedural information. Available on HeinOnline.

Search Google Scholar

chat loading...

Reference Appointments

The Taggart Law Library is here to help! Schedule an appointment with a librarian or chat with us using our online chat feature. Open to ONU Law students, faculty, staff, and alumni.

Constitutional Interpretation: Journal Articles

Journal Indexes

Full Text Journal Sources

Selected Constitutional Law Journals

Search Google Scholar

Reference Appointments

Quick Links