Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Links to American Legal History Websites
When using the Internet for research, be sure to carefully evaluate the sites you are using to determine how authoritative they are and any potential bias they may have on the topic you are researching.
American Memory, Government & Law (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. Government and law collections include Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention Documents, Slavery and the Law, and a Century of Lawmaking: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875.
Making of America (Cornell University Library)
The Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. See also the related site at the University of Michigan--http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/
The Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
This site contains digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. The documents date back to ancient times and are compiled to the present day.
United States National Archives and Records Administration (Research our Records)
The National Archives website contains important federal documents from various government organizations. It also has a searchable database of presidential materials and federal records.