Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United States Code (USC): Arranged topically with 51 titles, there are two annotated versions of the United States Code, United States Code Annotated (USCA—burgundy in color) and United States Code Service (USCS—black). They are produced by different publishers and can differ in the annotations they provide, so it’s a good idea to check both sets.
Some statutes dealing with Indians can be found in Title 25, for example. Other statutes may be found elsewhere—use the index volumes at the end of the set to find what you need, or there are volumes listing acts by popular name (Civil Rights Act of 1964, etc.) We keep copies of both sets in the Law South stacks.
Federal statutory and legislative material can also be found online in the following places:
Subscription database containing federal and state case law searchable by citation, by party name, or by using various search strategies (ONU Law School patrons only)
THOMAS (Library of Congress)
Federal legislative information made freely available to the public; especially useful for tracking recent legislation and Congressional information.
U.S. Code (HeinOnline)
Includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code (ONU Law patrons only).
U.S. Code (Legal Information Institute)
Freely available text of the U.S. Code; also includes a Popular Name Table and Parallel Table of Authorities.
U.S. Statutes at Large (HeinOnline)
Includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options (ONU Law patrons only).
Subscription database containing current and historical CFR from 1984-present and Federal Register 1936-present (ONU Law School patrons only).
State codes: Annotated state codes work very much like the federal codes, but may have a different topical organization. For example, in Ohio, statutes dealing with elections are contained in Title 35 of the Ohio Revised Code. The Taggart Law Library has state codes for all 50 states in the state materials section on the south side.