Cost-Effective Legal Research: Free Sources for Adminstrative Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations

• e-CFR - The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) provides a way of exploring the Code of Federal Regulations as it exists today and at points in time back to January 2017. Browsable and searchable by keyword, as well as CFR citation and relevant U.S. Code section.
• Govinfo - Provides access to publications from three branches of the Federal Government. Browsable and searchable by keyword and CFR citation. To search the full text of the CFR, use the advanced search interface.
• Legal Information Institute - provides access to current print versions electronically, Browsable and searchable by citation.

Federal Register

• Govinfo -Provides access to publications from three branches of the Federal Government. Browsable and searchable by keyword. To search the full text of the Federal Register, use the advanced search interface.
• FederalRegister.gov - Filter search results by agency, topic (C.F.R. indexing terms), or type of document. Search by index.
• Regulations.gov - Provides access to current proposed regulations open for comment. Includes a form for submitting comments. 
• Library of Congress - Provides access to digitized versions of the print Federal Register offered as PDFs. Browsable by volume.

State Administrative Regulations

Online access to state materials varies widely. Georgetown University Law Library has created state research guides for information about individual jurisdictions.

Ohio

• Library of Congress: Ohio Admin. Code
• Ohio Administrative Code (Ohio Legislative Serv. Comm'n)
• Register of Ohio
• An Overview of Administrative Rule-Making Procedure in Ohio (Legislative Serv. Comm'n Staff, Ohio Gen. Assembly).