International Humanitarian Law: Internet Sources

A bibliography of internet and periodical resources for research on international law of armed conflict, generally. Note that while the links may not work, the citations can still be of use.

A bibliography of internet and periodical resources for research on the law of armed conflict in air and space operations. While many of the links found within the PDFs will not work, the citations can still be of use.

Information about various war crimes courts and tribunals, with research links organized by topic and by country

Sponsored by the New York University School of Law, this center is “committed to promoting an informed understanding of the legal and security issues defining the post 9/11 era.” Website contains a variety of publications, including the “Rule of Law Series” and the “Terrorist Trial Report Card.”

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the world’s largest online resource of documents and articles, with more than 500,000 pages aggregated from 300 international publishing institutions, devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.

Collection of reports by CRS, a congressional support agency, which primarily address national security and foreign policy issues.

Sponsored by Syracuse University, this institute is a “multidisciplinary, university-based center for the study of national and international security and terrorism." Website includes some publications and links to other security-related organizations.

International organization ensuring humanitarian protection and assistance for victims of war and armed violence; site has a great deal of information on humanitarian law, including treaties and customary law.

LLMC Digital is a full text database containing over 8 million actual page images of legal literature and government documents from federal, state, and foreign jurisdictions.

Resource page provided by the Library of Congress, including links to historical manuals, regulations, monographs, and periodicals.

Maintained by the National Archives; the IWG locates, identifies, and recommends for declassification U.S. government records concerning World War II crimes.

Institute that conducts research on questions of conflict and cooperation of importance for international peace and security. Website includes links to research, publications, and databases, including Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST), a country profiles database with 38 different tables.

Contains a collection of freely available full-text databases of primary sources for several countries, as well as a catalog of links to lists of resources. The site can be browsed by country, region, or subject.