Business Planning: Treatises

Treatise containing introductory text and sample forms dealing with various business entities, including sole proprietorships, partnerships, LLCs, and corporations; includes sections on securities law and acquisitions.

Ohio State Bar Association CLE publication focusing on planning a business entity in Ohio; appendices contain a helpful entity comparison chart and sample agreements.

One-volume looseleaf detailing many aspects of organizing various business entities. Many chapters contain appendices with forms, agreements, lists, and other helpful information. Also available on Lexis-Nexis (ORGCRP).

Contains comprehensive forms and advice on the formation, finance, operation, and growth of businesses, with a focus on LLCs and partnerships.

Eight-volume looseleaf set. Volume 1 contains a good introductory chapter on general drafting considerations as well as individual chapters on LLCs, corporations, partnerships, and joint ventures, each with sample forms. Also available on LexisNexis (WARRNF)

PLI course handbook that contains substantial information on acquisitions agreements and other types of corporate agreements; see also editions from previous years.

Available on Westlaw, this multi-volume annotated set covering all aspects of a corporation, including articles of incorporation, stock and capital, and merger and consolidation.

Provides a sample LLP agreement that explores the application of the Revised Uniform Partnership Act (RUPA). Each section of the agreement is accompanied by commentary.

Available on Westlaw, this treatise on drafting partnership agreements, includes an introductory section on drafting concepts and an appendix with many different sample agreements.

Detailed guide addressing the steps of the merger and acquisitions process from start to finish. Covers both publicly and privately held businesses, but emphasizes private deals. Contains sample letters, agreements, and checklists.

Looseleaf detailing all aspects of the S corporation, including qualifications for subchapter S, and applicable code sections, regulations, forms, and instructions.