LibGuides: Jessup Competition Resources: 2024: Databases

Databases

Basic Documents of the ICJ
Coaches should be familiar with these, especially the UN Charter, Statute of the Court, and Rules of the Court.
Max Planck Institute on Public International Law
A comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law. This online version of the original the classic print set is continually updated. Contains over 1,000 articles. New material is added quarterly.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online contains in-depth, high-level articles by legal scholars at the top of their field. The born-digital content ensures current and authoritative coverage.
Summaries of the Work of the International Law Commission: Law of Treaties
The United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNSRRIP) Database
This database contains Annual Thematic Reports, Country Reports, Statement and Messages, Comments on Legislation and Expert Testimony of the current and all previous three Special Rapporteurs appointed by the Commission on Human Rights.

HeinOnline World Constitutions Illustrated
Contemporary and historical constitutions for the countries of the world in original language and English versions, as well as books, periodicals, and related resources. Available through HeinOnline.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database
FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions, and more.

Currently, Westlaw has the best foreign law coverage of the three databases. Most are practice-oriented.

From Westlaw's home page, select Practical Law to locate the following foreign law resources:

Select the Resource Types tab > then select Global Guides and Cross-Border Topics
- Global Guides
- Cross-Border Topics
Select Global Home from the top of the Practical Law page
- Select Practice Areas,
- Featured Countries or
- All Countries or
- Global In-house Resources
- Country Q & A comparison tool
Tip: Use "Related Content" when available
Tip: Search in both Global Home and Global Guides

For links to Foreign primary and secondary material:

Lexis provides good international news coverage for all countries and some primary source coverage for a few countries.

From the "International" tab on the home page, select "View All Countries and Regions."

Search by legal topic or law review articles:

chat loading...