Relevant Databases
Databases
Articles can be found in the library's databases. Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc) and often contain full-text articles. Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study.
- SearchONU (Classic Interface) This link opens in a new windowSearches ONU's databases, e-journals, e-books, the POLAR catalog, and the OhioLINK catalog.
Specific Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
More information - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business etc.
More information - CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts to the primary literature of nursing and allied health. Updated monthly
More information - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media. Includes or has links to full text
More information - DataPlanet Foundations This link opens in a new windowA dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text of articles and other publications in education research
More information - Food Science Source This link opens in a new windowOffers cover-to-cover full-text coverage for more than 1,400 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues; more than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are available
More information - Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowProfessional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources about sexual diversity issues
More information - Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowProvides international travelers with information on 175 countries. Topics include country facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, transportation, maps, communications, and much more.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowInformation on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
More information - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines.
More information - JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text articles, eBooks, and primary sources for many disciplines.
More information - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIf you find videos that you would like to use in classes, please complete this form to request them. Kanopy is a mediated, on-demand streaming video service that provides access to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Films requested will be available in approximately one to two business days.
More information - MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
More information - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
More information - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowJournals, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology.
More information - SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text covering sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
More information - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference library for sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation.
More information
Databases for News Sources
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
More information - New York Times (The) This link opens in a new windowCurrent and historic New York Times access. Follow the instructions to set up an account. If you have already created an account, login