Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Research Help - Physical Items

My item is a book, DVD, or other item.

To find an item in the library, you first need to determine if it is available and where it is. To do this, look at the table underneath the catalog record for the item (indicated by the orange box in the image below). The information in this box will tell you how to obtain the item. The first column, location, tells you what section of the building the item is in. This item is in the general collection on the third floor of the building. The second column, call number, tells you where on the shelf to find the item. Most of the items at Heterick use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on reading Dewey numbers. The third column, status, tells you whether someone else has the item checked out. If the item's status says "Available," that means it is not checked out. Use the location information and call number to find the item in the building.

Book record showing box with location information

 

Heterick's collections are shelved in different places and with different types of call numbers based on the type of item. Find the type of item you are looking for in the table below to see where and how it is shelved.

Photo of the General Collection General Books are located on the third floor. These books use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number.
Photo of the Oversize Book Collection Oversize books are located on the third floor to the left of the stairs near room 324. They use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number. Although their call numbers begin with a "Q," this just indicates that the book is an oversize book and does not affect how you read the call number.
Photo of the DVD Collection DVDs are located on the second floor to the right of the stairs. They use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number.
Photo of the Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction

Juvenile Fiction books are located on the second floor near the Writing Center. They use the letters "JF" and letters and numbers corresponding to the author's last name as call numbers. The books are shelved in alphabetical and then numerical order by these letters and numbers. 

Juvenile Nonfiction books are located on the second floor near the Writing Center. They use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number.

Photo of the Juvenile Biography Collection Juvenile Biography books are located on the second floor near the Writing Center. They use the letters "JB" and letters and numbers corresponding to the last name of the person who is the subject of the biography. The books are shelved in alphabetical and then numerical order by these letters and numbers.
Photo of the Young Adult Collection Young Adult books are located on the second floor near the Writing Center. They use the letters "YA" and letters and numbers corresponding to the author's last name as call numbers. The books are shelved in alphabetical and then numerical order by these letters and numbers. 
Photo of the Popular Books Collection Popular Books are located on the first floor in the short white shelves near the main staircase. They use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number.
Photo of the New Books Collection New Books are located on the first floor in the tall white shelf near room 103B. They use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number.
Photo of the Graphic Novel Collection Graphic Novels are located on the first floor in the short white shelves near room 103A. They use the letters "GN" and letters and numbers corresponding to the author's last name as call numbers. The books are shelved in alphabetical and then numerical order by these letters and numbers.
Photo of the Teaching and Learning Collection

The Teaching and Learning Collection is located on the first floor in the tall white shelf near room 103B. The books in this collection use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number..

Photo of the Reference Collection Reference books are located on the second floor near the Writing Center. They use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number.
Photo of the CD Collection CDs are located in the cream-colored cabinets by the printer on the second floor. They use Dewey Decimal call numbers. Click here for instructions on how to read a Dewey call number.
Photo of the Print Journals and Magazines Print Journals and Magazines are located on the second floor behind the DVDs. They are shelved alphabetically by title. To find an article in a print journal or magazine, first find the journal or magazine by title. Then use the volume and issue numbers, publication date, and page numbers to find the specific article.

Didn't answer your question? Contact us!

Profile Photo
Heterick Library
Contact:
419-772-2181