Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RELG 2031/HONR 2901: Eastern Religious Traditions

Search Tips to Remember

1. Add databases together

If you see a blue and green EBSCOhost logo in the top left corner of a databases, that database can be added to other EBSCOhost databases for a more streamlined search. Click on the blue "Choose Databases" hyperlink next to the green name of the database to select databases to add.


2. Don't forget ebooks!

Use the tips and tricks for ebook searching on the Book tab of this research guide to find easily accessible ebooks using the keywords suggested for your topic.


3. SearchONU

SearchONU is the library's HUGE database that adds together most of our individual databases, ebooks, print books, newspapers, etc., which some interdisciplinary topics benefit from. It can be found on the library's homepage or in the Database A-Z list


4. Wildcard* searches

If you see an asterisk (*) next to a word in the keyword column below, that means that several variations of that word might be relevant to your research.

Tip for streamlined search results: Cut off two similar words right before their similarities end, and then add an asterisk, and the database will search for all variations of that word.

  • For example: Buddh* will return database results for Buddha, Buddhist, Buddhists, and Buddhism.

Topic-Specific Database and Keyword Suggestions

VERY IMPORTANT: Read the tips and tricks in this box before you begin!

Below are the topic proposals submitted for the Spring 2020 semester. Databases suggested next to a topic can be found in the Database A-Z list.

Topics Databases Keywords and
Subject Headings
Buddhism Practices in Modern Society
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • Buddh*
  • Modern 
  • Societ*
  • Cultur*
  • Values
  • Social aspects
  • Practice
  • Spirituality
  • Tradition*
  • Temptation*
  • Worship
Buddhist Meditation in Western Cultures
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • Buddh*
  • Meditat*
  • Yoga
  • Mindfulness
  • Health*
  • Western*
  • Culture
  • United States
  • Secular
Jainism and Its Stance on Global Warming
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • Environment Complete
  • GreenFile
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • Jainism
  • Global warming
  • Climate change
  • Environment*
  • Ecolog*
  • Ethic*
Asian Religions in Modern Life
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • Asian religions
  • [specific religions]
  • Modern
  • Societ*
  • Cultur*
  • Values
  • Social aspects
  • Practice
  • Spirituality
Yoga: Hinduism and Around the World
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • Health Source - Consumer Ed.
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • SPORTDiscus
  • Yoga
  • Meditat*
  • Hindu*
  • Societ*
  • Cultur*
  • Social aspects
  • Health*
  • Popular*
  • Secular
  • Stress
  • Relax*
The Acceptance and Use of Buddhist Yoga Outside of the Religion
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • Health Source - Consumer Ed.
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • SPORTDiscus
  • Yoga
  • Buddh*
  • Secular
  • Societ*
  • Cultur*
  • Social aspects
  • Acceptance
  • Prevalence
  • Health*
     
A Meditation on Yoga
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • Health Source - Consumer Ed.
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • SPORTDiscus
  • Yoga
  • Jnana or karma or bhaki or three marga
  • Mind or body or soul
  • Modern
  • Societ*
  • Cultur*
  • Health*
  • Secular
  • Stress
  • Relax*
The Exceptional Devotion of the Women of Hinduism
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • Gender Studies Database
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • Women's Studies International
  • Hindu*
  • Women or woman
  • Devot*
  • Religious practices
  • Cultur*
  • Laws of Manu
  • Goddess worship
  • Strength
Yoga Through the Years
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • Health Source - Consumer Ed.
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • SPORTDiscus
  • Yoga
  • Histor*
  • India
  • Enlightenment
  • Health*
  • Societ*
  • Cultur*
  • Social aspects
  • [specific religions]
  • Secular
Eastern Religions and the Relationship with the LGBT People
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • Gender Studies Database
  • LGBT Life with Full Text
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • Women's Studies International
  • LGBTQ
  • Sexual orientation
  • Eastern religion
  • [specific religions]
  • Beliefs
  • Societ*
  • Cultur*
  • Religious life
  • Social conditions
Religious Ideology's Relationship to Societal Morality
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • Moral*
  • Ethics
  • Religion
  • Definition
  • Societ*
  • Cultur*
  • [specific religious texts]
  • Persecut*
Modern Forms of Meditation, Buddhism, and NonBelievers
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX
  • Buddh*
  • Meditat*
  • Yoga
  • Mindfulness
  • Health*
  • Western*
  • Cultur*
  • Secular
  • Popular culture or pop culture
Migration of Buddhism into Chinese Society
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX​
  • Buddh*
  • China or Chinese
  • Migrat*
  • Politic*
  • Econom*
  • Catalyst
  • Han dynasty
  • Histor*
  • Growth
The Influence of Buddhism on Asian Culture and Ways of Life
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Atla Serials, Religion Collection
  • MasterFILE
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • SearchONU
  • SocINDEX​
  • Buddh*
  • Modern society
  • Influenc*
  • Cultur*
  • Values
  • Social aspects
  • Practice
  • Spirituality
  • Asia*
  • Sacred texts
  • Translat*
  • [Country names]