Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TREX 1001: Sleep on It

Librarians!

we are librarians and we know the answers to questions you didn't even know to ask

 

Librarians are one of the most important resources in any library. At ONU, you even have your own Personal Librarian dedicated to helping you! We can help you find resources for your research assignments and formulate search strategies, or just assist you in finding your way around the library. Your Personal Librarian is assigned based on your major. Find the librarian for your major using the link below.

Librarians at ONU also create Research Guides to help students outside of library hours. These guides are often for a specific course, but there are also guides for subjects or special topics. The Research Guides are a great place to look for suggestions of different databases to try or for a refresher on research techniques. Browse our guides by subject using the dropdown below.

Books!

open book iconOf course, the library has books, as well as print and electronic journals, videos, ebooks, and streaming videos. You can find this content by searching our catalog, POLAR. Learn how to search POLAR in the video below.

If you don't find what you need in POLAR, you can try the OhioLINK catalog for books and media. OhioLINK is a consortium of almost all of the academic libraries in Ohio, so it offers access to a huge number of resources.

Search the Catalogs

POLAR FAQ 

OHIOLINK Library Catalog

What is OhioLINK?

Databases!

The library also subscribes to hundreds of databases full of quality sources for your research papers and other projects. Databases are electronic indexes containing published materials, like scholarly articles. Databases can be subject specific, like Business Source Complete, or multidisciplinary, like Academic Search Complete, or can be collections of a specific type of media, like Kanopy (streaming video) or Smithsonian Global Sound Library (streaming music). Find our databases on the library search box under databases, where you can browse by title or topic, or on Research Guides for classes or subjects.

And MORE!

Reservable Rooms

group study room

You can reserve rooms at the library for group meetings or studying. Many of these rooms contain a TV that can be used to display your screen to your whole group. 

Check out our Room Reservation page for a full list of rooms at the library.

 

Café

The library café, Northern Lights, features a complete coffee menu with plenty of treats. Students can place their order inside, or use the café's new outside walk-up window.

Check out our Hours page to see Northern Lights' hours.

ONU Archives

Located on the third floor of the library, the Archives are home to collections pertaining to the University's history. Materials in the Archives are available to be viewed by all members of the University and the general public.

Check out our Archives page for more information.

Writing Center

Located on the second floor of the library, the Writing Center provides assistance to students who need help with any of their writing assignments. We highly encourage all students to make use of the Writing Center!

Computers & Printers

The library computer lab is available for student use whenever it is not reserved for a class. Multiple color and black and white printers and scanners are available nearby. A fax machine is also available free of charge for students during regular business hours. Please ask at the library's front desk for more details.

Zotero

Our recommended citation management system, Zotero is free and open-source software available online. Zotero is a great way to keep your sources organized and includes tools to help you create a bibliography or works cited section for your papers.