Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ATTR 2651: Evaluation Techniques of Athletic Training 2

Relevant Databases to HPSS

Databases

Articles can be found in the library's databases.  Library databases are searchable, contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc) and often contain full-text articles.  Databases can be multi-disciplinary covering many subjects or they can be subject-specific focusing on a specific area of study. 

Finding Full-Text Articles and Off Campus Access

Most databases will have full-text articles available in PDF or HTML formats.  If PDF or HTML is unavailable look for the following link:

small circle with green stripes and text: find it @ ONU

Click on this link to find your full-text article.

If the above link is not available, request your article through Interlibrary Loan.

When using library resources off campus, the system prompts for your Ohio Northern University username and password

  • When prompted for your username, type your ONU username.
  • Your password is the same password you use to sign into your ONU email.

Please contact reference@onu.edu with any questions.

Citation Finder

Have a citation but need to find the actual article? Use the form found at this link to look up a specific journal title.

If you are looking for articles on a certain topic, please see the links for HML databases.  If you are looking for a specific book or an entire journal, please use the HML journal finder. 

Interlibrary Loan

Please use Interlibrary Loan for materials not available through the library's resources and not available through OhioLINK.  You may request journal articles, books and DVDs through Interlibrary Loan.  From the time of request, books usually arrive in 10-12 days.  Journal articles are usually delivered electronically and arrive within 3-5 days. Please visit Heterick's ILL page for more information about requesting items:

Interlibrary Loan at Heterick

For further questions about Interlibrary Loan, please email: ill@onu.edu.   

Boolean Searching

Boolean operators are used to join your search terms together in order to make your search more or less specific.

illustration of two overlapping circles with the words colleges AND "polar bears"

 

 

AND is the most commonly used operator. When you use AND to join your search terms, you will only get results that include all of your terms. In this example, we will only get results that include the words colleges and polar bears.

illustration of two circles with space in between and words "Ohio Northern" OR "polar bears" 

OR makes your search less specific and will bring back more results. It is most helpful when searching for synonyms or closely related terms. In this example, we will get results that use just Ohio Northern, just polar bears, and results that include both terms.

Image of one circle with the words "Polar bears" NOT "Ohio Northern"

 

NOT is used to exclude a term from your search. It will make your search more specific and bring back fewer results. In this example, we will only get results with the term polar bears and no results with the word Ohio.

CAUTION: NOT should be used sparingly as it can remove potentially helpful results. 

Results from Searching Similar Topics in Different Databases