Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ISR 2531: Research Methods

Find Articles

Databases

Find articles in the library's databases.

Databases are:

  • Collections of articles from different types of publications
  • Some contain other kinds of content like statistics or drug information
  • Searchable
  • Contain citation information (author, title, publisher, abstract, date published, etc)
  • May be multi-disciplinary or subject specific

How do I know which database to use?  

Go to the library's homepage and click on the databases tab to browse our databases by title or by subject. Look for Best Bets at the top of a subject page, or try SearchONU if you're not sure. 

Browse database titles using the link under the Databases tab, or use the dropdown menu to search for databases by subject.

Finding Full-Text Articles and Off Campus Access

Most databases will have full-text articles available in PDF or HTML formats.  If PDF or HTML is unavailable look for the following links:

small circle with green stripes and text: find it @ ONU

OR

Full Text via OhioLINK EJ.

Click on one of these links to find your full-text article.

If the above link is not available, request your article through Interlibrary Loan.

When using library resources off campus, the system prompts for your Ohio Northern University username and password

  • When prompted for your username, type your ONU username.
  • Your password is the same password you use to sign into your ONU email.

Please contact reference@onu.edu with any questions.

Finding Scholarly Articles: Academic Search

Saving Articles

Saving Articles Once You Have Found Them

There are several options for saving articles so you can refer back to them throughout the research process. Choose the ones that work best for you.

1. Download the PDF of the article and save it. Once you've found the PDF of your article, you can download it and save it wherever you usually keep files: your laptop, tablet, flash drive, Google Drive, Dropbox, etc. See the links below for instructions on how to find the PDF of an article in different databases.

2. Email the article to yourself. Most databases allow you to send an email to yourself with a link to an article. Some databases will even include the article itself as an attachment to the email. See the links below for instructions on how to find the email button in different databases.

3. Copy and save the permalink. In most databases, the URL in the URL bar is not stable; this means that, after a period of time (usually a few hours), it will no longer link back to the article you copied it from. If you want to save a link to an article, make sure to use the stable link, which is usually called the permalink or stable URL. See the links below for instructions on how to find the permalink in different databases.

My article is in an EBSCO database.

My article is in JSTOR.

My article is in Web of Science.

My article is in Engineering Village.

My article is in the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.